On this day in 1953, South Sydney won their 14th Premiership defeating St George 31-12 at the Sydney Cricket Ground in front of a crowd of 44,581.

Finishing off the season as Minor Premiers, Souths scored a mighty seven tries to overrun St George adding their third Premiership in a period of four years.

Following the match, Club President Jack Glasheen, stood on a table in the packed dressing room and spoke for some time of "This... this mighty Club... South Sydney...", before announcing to the crowd: "Gentleman, if you attend Redfern Oval tomorrow, there will be two 18c on tap to celebrate the auspicious occasion".

The team included Clive Churchill, Ian Moir, Martin Gallagher, Kevin Woolfe, Frank Threlfo, John Dougherty, Ray Mason, Denis Donoghue, Ernie Hammerton, Jim Richards, Bob Moon, Lew Cowie and was captained and coached by Jack Rayner.

The 31 points were made up by a hat-trick to Moir and tries to Woolfe, Threlfo, Dougherty and Hammerton while Dougherty kicked four goals with the remaining penalty kick points added by Churchill. Moir finished up the season as the lead try scorer with a total of 23 tries.

Celebrate 110 Years of bringing people together in 2018 - become a Rabbitohs Member. Membership goes on sale on Wednesday 20 September.

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.