Rabbitohs centre Campbell Graham has been awarded his first George Piggins Medal as the season's best and fairest player for 2023 after a stellar season in the outside backs.

Despite playing under extreme duress due to a season-long sternum injury, Graham came off representing Australia at last year's Rugby League World Cup to be named the player of the year for his Club this season.

Graham was dubbed as the game's best centre at times this season due to his uncompromising defence and stinging attacking raids which resulted in him scoring 16 tries, including two hat tricks, from his 21 appearances in red and green this year.

In addition to his 16 tries scored, he recorded five try assists, 66 tackle breaks, 21 line breaks, made over 350 tackles for the season and averaged 132 running metres per game.

Graham proved to be the Rabbitohs most reliable player throughout the season with his teammates trusting him in the defensive line and knowing he can deliver something special in attack when it's needed. He formed a strong right-side combination with halfback Lachlan Ilias and second-rower Keaon Koloamatangi, and was in line to make his State of Origin debut for New South Wales which was hindered after he was ruled out of Game I with a sternum injury.

The South Sydney junior from the Coogee-Randwick Wombats club won the Jack Rayner Players' Player award in 2022 and back up that wonderful season with another stellar performance throughout 2023.

Graham was presented with the George Piggins Medal by Rabbitohs Head Coach Jason Demetriou at the annual Red and Green Ball in Alexandria tonight (Friday).

The best and fairest medal is named after Rabbitohs club legend George Piggins who was a Premiership-winning and international player, coach and official over a four-decade period. The South Sydney Life Member was also one of the leading figures in the Club’s fight for reinstatement to the National Rugby League in the early 2000s.

Congratulations to Campbell Graham on winning his first George Piggins Medal in Season 2023.

George Piggins Medal Best and Fairest winners:

2023 Campbell Graham
2022 Tevita 'Junior' Tatola
2021 Cody Walker
2020 Cody Walker
2019 Damien Cook
2018 Damien Cook
2017 Sam Burgess
2016 Sam Burgess
2015 Greg Inglis
2014 Sam Burgess
2013 Greg Inglis and John Sutton
2012 John Sutton
2011 Nathan Merritt
2010 Issac Luke
2009 John Sutton
2008 Luke Stuart
2007 Roy Asotasi
2006 David Fa’alogo
2005 Peter Cusack
2004 Ashley Harrison
2003 Bryan Fletcher
2002 Paul Stringer

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.