The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ female pathways program took another step forward this week when the Lisa Fiaola Cup squad took part in the 2022 Gala Day on Tuesday 27 September at Tuggerah’s Central Coast Regional Sporting Complex.

The 22-player squad was led by Head Coach Shane Manning to the tournament which saw the under 17s girls play in four games against teams from around New South Wales.

Each player in the squad played in all four matches on the day, giving these young prospects the chance to play against the best 17-year-old girls in the state over a four-game period.

The Rabbitohs had one win, one draw and two losses from their four games with five-eighth Kiani Duckett scoring four tries throughout the competition, dummy half Lillie McLean crossing for two tries, with centre Shanelle Lyons and winger Veronica Tawake Saukuru each scoring a four-pointer.

In game one, the Rabbitohs took on the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, registering an eight-all draw.

In game two, South Sydney fell to the Illawarra Steelers 28-nil, followed by a 16-8 loss to the Northern Tigers in round three.

In their final game, the Rabbitohs scored a 16-4 victory over the Western Rams, ending the tournament on a high.

Congratulations to all of the girls for representing the South Sydney Rabbitohs with pride at the Lisa Fiaola Cup gala day in 2022 and we all look forward to watching you progress through the Rabbitohs pathways in the future.

Round One:

South Sydney Rabbitohs 8 (Kiani Duckett, Lillie McLean tries)

drew with

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 8

Round Two:

Illawarra Steelers 28


South Sydney Rabbitohs 0

Round Three:

Northern Tigers 16


South Sydney Rabbitohs 8 (Kiani Duckett 2 tries)

Round Four:

South Sydney Rabbitohs 16 (Shanelle Lyons, Veronica Tawake Saukuru, Kiani Duckett, Lillie McLean tries)


Western Rams 4

2022 South Sydney Rabbitohs Lisa Fiaola Cup Squad:

Bella Afungia

Destiny Fusi Autamaine

Kiani Duckett

Juanita Jang

Isabella Pearl Kitchener-Waters

Zoe Kurnoth

Jacinta Laverance

Shanelle Lyons

Taliah Mafi

Lillie McLean

Keala Mealey-Walker

Merinda Mihajlovic

Aleyah Jade Miles

Felicity Radinamo Smith

Labreh Reynolds

Mackenzie Schoultz

Veronica Tawake Saukuru

Lesley Tuipulotu

Lusia Tupola

Sesilia Fusi Vakauta

Phoenix Williams

Melisha Winters

Head Coach – Shane Manning

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.