On this day, South Sydney Rabbitohs Members can look back on a series of Premiership wins with Souths claiming victory in 1971, 1954 and 1926.


A thriller of a Grand Final took place. Despite a number of rule changes being brought in to try and halt the run of the Rabbitohs, such as the six-tackle rule and the reduction of the value of a field goal from two points, South Sydney would go on to claim the Club’s 20th premiership in 1971.

At half time in the Final against St. George at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Souths led 1-0, as a result of Eric Simm's first field goal of the season.

In the second half the Rabbitohs pulled ahead 11-0 before the Dragons comeback to 11-10. Inside the last two minutes Souths lock Ron Coote sent Bob McCarthy over for the clinching try and a 16-10 victory, delivering the last Premiership of the Club's third Golden Era. Denis Pittard would collect his second Rothmans Medal following his outstanding season in the red and green.


Souths had been on a good run over the previous few years taking home the last three Premierships titles. On this day, they added one more.

In the first season of mandatory Grand Finals, Fullback Clive Churchill and lock Les "Chicka" Cowie combined for two tries in three minutes in the closing stages of the Grand Final against Newtown at the Sydney Cricket Ground, clinching a 23-15 victory and delivering Souths another Premiership. Newtown and Souths had done battle all year, throughout the regular season and the finals, and the Grand Final result was a fitting end to a memorable year for both clubs.

This would be Souths 15th overall Premiership.


Finishing up as Minor premiers, Souths went on to win their second consecutive and sixth overall Premiership, beating University 11-5 in the Premiership Final at the Sydney Agricultural Ground.

During the season skipper Alf "Smacker" Blair ran the side from half back with two five-eighths, correctly reasoning that Souths five man forward pack is strong enough to overpower every opponent. Souths only used 19 players throughout the entire season.

Benny Wearing finished up as the highest try scorer with a total of 14 tries.

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.