South Sydney junior Tyrone Munro has been awarded the John Sattler Rookie of the Year award for Season 2023.

Munro, 18, made his NRL debut against the Warriors in Auckland in round 18 of this season, going on to play three first grade matches this season.

Rabbitohs first grade player number #1191, Munro scored three tries in his three games including a double against the Bulldogs in round 19. He recorded one try assist, eight tackle breaks, six line breaks and averaged 127 running metres per game.

Munro started the season playing in the SG Ball Cup under 19s squad, progressing through the Jersey Flegg Cup and NSW Cup ranks to feature in the NRL. Munro also scored the winning try in the 2023 NSW Cup Grand Final to win the Rabbitohs their first second grade premiership in 40 years, and a hat trick in a man-of-the-match performance on NRL Grand Final day to claim the Club’s first NRL State Championship title.

Munro was presented with the John Sattler Rookie of the Year award by South Sydney Football Club Director Nick Hatzistergos at the annual Red and Green Ball tonight (Friday).

The award is named after South Sydney legend John Sattler won captained the Rabbitohs to four premierships between 1967 and 1971. Mr Sattler passed away in March 2023 and is one of the most revered people in South Sydney history.

Congratulations to Tyrone Munro on winning the 2023 John Sattler Rookie of the Year award.

John Sattler Rookie of the Year winners:

2023 Tyrone Munro
2022 Lachlan Ilias
2021 Blake Taaffe
2020 Keaon Koloamatangi
2019 Corey Allan
2018 Adam Doueihi
2017 Cameron Murray
2016 Cody Walker
2015 Chris Grevsmuhl
2014 Alex Johnston
2013 Dylan Walker
2012 Adam Reynolds
2011 Nathan Peats
2010 Dylan Farrell
2009 David Tyrrell
2008 Chris Sandow 2007 Issac Luke 2006 Germaine Paulson
2005 Yileen Gordon and Manase Manuokafoa
2004 Joe Williams
2003 Mark Minichiello
2002 Scott Geddes

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.