Rabbitohs fullback Latrell Mitchell has been announced as the Ken Stephen Medal winner for season 2023, taking out the NRL’s Man of the Year title at tonight's Dally M Awards.

Latrell is renowned for his community engagement work with both Souths Cares and in his own time, helping change and enrich the lives of thousands of children and adults every year.

Latrell Mitchell's passion for the game of Rugby League is unquestionable, as is his desire to help the community, particularly youth. The same grit and determination Latrell displays on the field, he also displays off the field in his community work, advocacy and support for individuals in need of assistance.

Stemming from his own humble up-bringing in the regional NSW town of Taree, Latrell is passionate about many initiatives outside of his club commitments, with a focus on Indigenous communities, regional NSW, mental health and grassroots Rugby League.

Throughout 2023, Latrell visited the communities of Cabbage Tree Island, Brewarrina and Comboyne to support communities impacted by floods and to promote grassroots Rugby League. He offered his time and support in his own time to try and help those affected by the floods and to put a smile on the face of the children who live in these regions.

Latrell has courageously campaigned against bullying and racism, utilising his platform as an NRL player to bring awareness to these issues and calling for change. He is often unjustly targeted for taking a stand against racism and bullying, yet he continues to stand against these abhorrent behaviours and advocate for his people.

Latrell has been a great supporter of Souths Cares' transformational programs and has supported the charity by delivering anti-bullying workshops, attending Souths Cares events and generously hosting Souths Cares' Male Leadership and Cultural Camp on the family's farm in Taree.

Latrell has supported countless individual requests for assistance, which he has done discreetly without the pursuit of public accolade.

Latrell's actions demonstrate generosity, courage, empathy, humility and integrity; all of which have seen him be awarded the Ken Stephen Medal as the NRL's Man of the Year.

Latrell's award was presented at the Dally M Awards in Sydney, the second year in a row that the Ken Stephen Medal has been won by a Rabbitohs player. In 2022, Cody Walker won the award, earning the title of the NRL's Man of the Year. Former Rabbitohs captain Michael Andrews also won the award in 1993.

Congratulations to Latrell Mitchell on winning the Ken Stephen Medal for season 2023.

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.