South Sydney Rabbitohs, 1908 Finalists

STATS

Results: 1908-1910

The South Sydney District Rugby League Football Club was established on the 17th of January 1908 at Redfern Town Hall, and played their first NSWRL match against North Sydney at Birchgrove Oval on the 20th of April of that year. They went on to become the competition’s first ever Premiers, and went on to take out their second consecutive title in 1909 after Balmain boycotted the final. The Club only failed to complete the triple after they drew with Newtown in the final and their opponents were crowned winners as they had claimed the minor premiership. 

 

1908

Round 1 - Mon Apr 20 - Souths 11 def Norths 7

Round 2 - Sat Apr 25 - Souths 42 def Wests 7

Round 3 - Sat May 16 - Souths 12 lost to Easts 13

Round 4 - Sat May 23 - Souths Bye

Round 5 - Sat May 30 - Souths 31 def Newtown 3

Round 6 - Sat Jun 20 - Glebe 5 lost to Souths 21

Round 7 - Sat Jun 27 - Souths 30 def Newcastle 11

Round 8 - Sat Jul 4 - Souths Bye

Round 9 - Sat Jul 25 - Balmain 2 lost to Souths 16

Round 10 - Sat Aug 8 - Souths 8 def Newcastle 3

Semi-finals - Sat Aug 15 - Souths 16 def Glebe 3

Final - Sat Aug 29 - Souths 14 def Easts 12

 

 

Team

P

W

D

L

B

For

Agn

Pts

Diff

1

Souths

9

8

0

1

1

194

53

18

+141

2

Easts

9

8

0

1

1

183

90

18

+93

3

Glebe

9

7

0

2

1

106

63

16

+43

4

Norths

9

6

0

3

1

155

66

14

+89

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5

Newcastle

9

4

0

5

1

151

116

10

+35

6

Balmain

9

3

1

5

1

86

113

9

-27

7

Newtown

9

1

1

7

1

70

148

5

-78

8

Wests

9

1

0

8

1

47

190

4

-143

9

Cumberland

8

1

0

7

1

38

191

4

-153

 

1909 

Round 1 - Sat Apr 24 - Balmain 0 lost to Souths 4

Round 2 - Sat May 1 - Souths 28 def Newcastle 9

Round 3 - Sat May 15 - Souths 16 def Newtown 2

Round 4 - Sat May 22 - Easts 10 lost to Souths 22

Round 5 - Sat May 29 - Souths 29 def Glebe 2

Round 6 - Sat Jun 19 - Souths 34 def Wests 3

Round 7 - Sat Jun 26 - Souths 37 def Norths 5

Round 8 - Sat Jul 10 - Souths 16 def Easts 5

Round 9 - Sat Jul 17 - Glebe 0 lost to Souths 24

Round 10 - Sat Aug 7 - Newcastle 5 def Souths 0

Semi-finals - Sat Aug 14 - Souths 20 def Newcastle 0

Grand Final - Tue Sep 14 - Balmain forfeited to Souths

 

 

Team

P

W

D

L

B

For

Agn

Pts

Diff

1

Souths

10

9

0

1

0

210

41

18

+169

2

Balmain

10

8

0

2

0

130

62

16

+68

3

Newcastle

10

5

0

5

0

144

93

10

+51

4

Roosters

10

5

0

5

0

167

141

10

+26

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5

Glebe

10

4

0

6

0

62

159

8

-97

6

Newtown

10

3

1

6

0

73

107

7

-34

7

Norths

10

2

2

6

0

104

157

6

-53

8

Wests

10

2

1

7

0

42

172

5

-130

 

1910

Round 1 - Sat Apr 30 - Balmain 5 lost to Souths 13

Round 2 - Sat May 14 - Glebe 3 lost to Souths 10

Round 3 - Sat May 21 - Easts 10 lost to Souths 14

Round 4 - Sat May 28 - Souths 7 lost to Newtown 12

Round 5 - Sat Jun 25 - Norths 27 def Souths 21

Round 6 - Sat Jul 2 - Souths 32 def Wests 13

Round 7 - Sat Jul 16 - Souths 34 def Annandale 8

Round 8 - Sat Jul 23 - Souths 67 def Wests 0

Round 9 - Sat Jul 30 - Souths 53 def Norths 4

Round 10 - Sat Aug 13 - Souths 15 def Newtown 8

Round 11 - Sat Aug 20 - Souths 19 def Annandale 2

Round 12 - Sat Aug 27 - Souths 3 lost to Easts 8

Round 13 - Sat Sep 3 - Glebe 2 lost to Souths 22

Round 14 - Sat Sep 10 - Balmain 7 lost to Souths 16

Final - Sat Sep 17 - Souths 4 drew Newtown 4

 

 

Team

P

W

D

L

B

For

Agn

Pts

Diff

1

Newtown

14

11

1

2

0

262

92

23

+170

2

Souths

14

11

0

3

0

326

109

22

+217

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3

Easts

14

9

2

3

0

248

116

20

+132

4

Balmain

14

8

0

6

0

153

190

16

-37

5

Glebe

14

6

0

8

0

175

194

12

-19

6

Annandale

14

5

1

8

0

145

200

11

-55

7

Norths

14

3

0

11

0

146

283

6

-137

8

Wests

14

1

0

13

0

115

386

2

-271