You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Thomas Burgess has been awarded the Burrow Appreciation Award (NRL) for 2020

Rabbitohs enforcer Thomas Burgess has been awarded the Burrow Appreciation Award for 2020.

Burrow Appreciation Award

In a career-best season Burgess led the pack; taking the younger forwards under his wing as he developed into a senior leader following the departure of his brothers.

Burgess finished the year with 23 appearances for South Sydney, scoring 2 tries, breaking 31 tackles and averaging 27 tackles and 146 metres per game.

His partnership with Junior Tatola set the tone and laid the platform, allowing the Rabbitohs to march up-field, putting them in positions to work their backline plays.
Rabbitohs Chairman Nicholas Pappas was on hand to present Burgess with the Burrow Appreciation Award. The South Sydney Rabbitohs would like to congratulate Thomas on his award.

Previous Winners:

2006 - Nathan Merritt

2007 – Paul Mellor

2008 – Luke Stuart

2009 – Nathan Merritt

2010 – Chris Sandow

2011 – Michael Crocker

2012 – Adam Reynolds

2013 – Issac Luke

2014 – Sam Burgess

2015 – Jason Clark

2016 – Kyle Turner

2017 – Angus Crichton

2018 - Damien Cook

2019 - John Sutton

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners