You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cody Walker has been awarded the Jack Rayner Players' Player Award for 2020

Rabbitohs five-eighth Cody Walker has been voted by his teammates as the player they felt had the biggest impact on the field, by being awarded the Jack Rayner Players' Player Award for 2020.

Jack Rayner Players' Player

There is no higher honour in rugby league than having your teammates want you standing in the line next to them, Cody Walker has been labelled the ultimate competitor and in my many instances, the ultimate game-changer.

Walker had 21 appearances scoring 10 tries - including a brilliant long-range effort against Parramatta in that 38-0 drumming. Walker also bagged a couple of doubles against the Dragons in round 12 and the Roosters in round 20 to help steer the Rabbitohs to victory.

Walker’s brilliant performances saw him selected for the NSW Blues extended squad at season’s end. In the back-end of the year, Walker was arguably the best player in the competition, re-capturing similar form to his scintillating run in the first couple of months of the 2019 season.

Cody Walker Players' Player Acceptance Speech

One of the game’s most instinctive players known for his ‘eyes up footy,’ Walker suited the speed of the game really well after the new rules were implemented in round three. With the set-restarts ability to fatigue defenders and encourage less-structured attacking raids, Walker flourished.

The award is named after Club legend Jack Rayner, who captain-coached the Club to five premierships in the 1950s, whose leadership and values are still upheld with 'The Rabbitoh Way'.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs would like to congratulate Cody on his award.

Previous Winners:

2002 - Paul Stringer and Scott Geddes

2003 – Luke Stuart

2004 – Ashley Harrison

2005 – Peter Cusack

2006 – Nathan Merritt

2007 – Roy Asotasi

2008 – Luke Stuart and Nathan Merritt

2009 – Luke Stuart

2010 – Sam Burgess

2011 – Chris Sandow

2012 – Greg Inglis

2013 – Sam Burgess

2014 – Sam Burgess

2015 – Greg Inglis

2016 – Sam Burgess

2017 – Angus Crichton

2018 - Sam Burgess

2019 - Cameron Murray