You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cody Walker has been awarded the George Piggins Medal for 2020

Rabbitohs livewire five-eighth Cody Walker has been awarded the George Piggins Medal for 2020, capping off a break-out season which sees him crowned the Best and Fairest player for the first time in his career.

2020 George Piggins Medalist

In his 21 appearances for South Sydney this season, Walker scored 10 tries, had 21 try assists and took his running game to another level registering 17 linebreaks and a staggering 66 tackle breaks for the year.

Walker averaged 101 metres with the ball and really came alive particularly in Indigenous round against the Dragons and then in the last regular season match against the Roosters. On those occasions, both times he ran for over 150 metres.

Walker put the team on his back out at Kogarah against the Dragons after Adam Reynolds was forced to the sideline with injury. We all knew how much of an attacking threat Cody is but, he certainly has matured into a genuine game manager in 2020; often coming up with the right play when called upon.

Walker registered arguable the best individual performance of the season against our rivals the Roosters in round 20. In that game he scored two tries, had three try assists, made one linebreak and assisted another.

Walker Honoured by 2020 George Piggins Medal Award.

It was through his consistency all year and that purple patch of form in the back-end of the year that saw him re-called into the NSW Blues extended squad at season’s end. 

The Best and Fairest award is named after Rabbitohs Club legend George Piggins, who was a premiership-winning and international player, coach and official over a 40-year period. He was also one of the leading figures in the Club's fight for reinstatement to the National Rugby League in the early 2000s.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs would like to congratulate Cody on his stellar season and his awards.

Previous Winners:

2002 - Paul Stringer

2003 – Bryan Fletcher

2004 – Ashley Harrison

2005 – Peter Cusack

2006 – David Fa'alogo

2007 – Roy Asotasi

2008 – Luke Stuart

2009 – John Sutton

2010 – Issac Luke

2011 – Nathan Merritt

2012 – John Sutton

2013 – Greg Inglis and John Sutton

2014 – Sam Burgess

2015 – Greg Inglis

2016 – Sam Burgess

2017 – Sam Burgess

2018 - Damien Cook

2019 - Damien Cook

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners