You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rabbitohs Team List for Charity Shield

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are pleased to announce their squad for the 37th Charity Shield against the St George Illawarra Dragons at Glen Willow Regional Sports Stadium this Saturday 29 February at 7pm.

Rabbitohs Head Coach Wayne Bennett will field his strongest available line up for the traditional pre-season feature with the Dragons in what will be the final opportunity for the teams to prepare in match conditions before their respective round one clashes in two weeks’ time.

This is the third consecutive year the Charity Shield has been played in Mudgee and the Rabbitohs are aiming to secure their eighth-straight Charity Shield title with a win on Saturday night. The traditional game was first played back in 1982 with the Rabbitohs claiming the shield on 20 occasions.

Souths Cares is the Rabbitohs’ chosen charity for this game, an organisation that operates programs for disadvantaged, marginalized and Indigenous youth and their families in the South Sydney district, around the State and throughout the Country.

The Rabbitohs Membership Marquee and Merchandise Van will be in attendance at Saturday’s game so fans can become Members and snap up the latest merchandise ahead of Season 2020.

The teams will also stand for a moment’s silence, and the Rabbitohs will wear black armbands, in recognition of the passing of former Rabbitohs player and premiership winner, South Sydney Life Member and Dragons player Brian James who passed away in January following a tragic farming accident on his property in nearby Capertee.

The Rabbitohs vs Dragons match will kick off at 7pm with two curtain raisers scheduled for the lead up to the big game. The Western Rams will take on the Panthers in the under 18s Laurie Daley Cup match at 4:55pm and in the under 16s Andrew Johns Cup game at 3:35pm. Gates open at 3:30pm and tickets are available for pre-purchase by visiting

The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ squad for Saturday’s Charity Shield against the Dragons is:

1. Latrell Mitchell
2. Dane Gagai
3. James Roberts
4. Braidon Burns
5. Campbell Graham
6. Cody Walker
7. Adam Reynolds (c)
8. Junior Tatola
9. Damien Cook
10. Thomas Burgess
11. Jaydn Su'A
12. Cameron Murray
13. Liam Knight
14. Patrick Mago
15. Hame Sele
16. Alex Johnston
17. Keaon Koloamatangi
18. Bryson Goodwin
19. Corey Allan
20. Bayley Sironen
21. Troy Dargan
22. Blake Taaffe
23. Jack Johns
24. Tom Amone
Coach: Wayne Bennett

Charity Shield Match Records:

Played 36, Dragons 16, Rabbitohs 15, Drawn 5.

1982 Dragons 9-7
1983 Dragons 28-10
1984 Rabbitohs 24-6
1985 Dragons 10-8
1986 Dragons 12-0
1987 Dragons 28-14
1988 Rabbitohs 30-6
1989 Rabbitohs 20-16
1990 Draw 10-10 (Rabbitohs retain)
1991 Draw 16-16 (Rabbitohs retain)
1992 Rabbitohs 21-20
1993 Dragons 10-8
1994 Dragons 14-11
1995 Dragons 18-10
1996 Dragons 30-6
1997 Dragons 26-18
1998 Dragons 14-4
1999 Rabbitohs 16-4
2002 Draw 20-20 (Rabbitohs retain)
2003 Dragons 28-10
2004 Dragons 34-8
2005 Rabbitohs 30-6
2006 Rabbitohs 14-12
2007 Dragons 16-14
2008 Rabbitohs 24-20
2009 Rabbitohs 18-6
2010 Draw 26-26 (Rabbitohs retain)
2011 Dragons 32-10
2012 Dragons 18-12
2013 Rabbitohs 28-10
2014 Rabbitohs 38-20
2015 Draw 12-12 (Rabbitohs retain)
2016 Rabbitohs 18-14
2017 Rabbitohs 32-14
2018 Rabbitohs 22-18
2019 Rabbitohs 36-24


Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners