Celebrate Indigenous Round with our exclusive Rabbitohs merchandise - Shop Now

Team list

Women's match preview: Rabbitohs ready for epic battle

The South Sydney Rabbitohs take on Cabramatta this Sunday 8 July in what is set to be a classic encounter at the famous Redfern Oval.

Not since Round 1 of the Harvey Norman NSW Women's Premiership have the Red and Green run out onto the hallowed turf of their spiritual home and the Rabbitohs women can't wait to turn on the style in front of what should be a big Sunday afternoon crowd.

After playing just two matches through the month of June, which saw the Rabbitohs slump to their first defeat of the season and a draw, the Cardinal and Myrtle will want to get back into fifth gear with the finals approaching.


Game details

Match: South Sydney Rabbitohs v Cabramatta Round 13

Venue: Redfern Oval 

Date and time: Sunday 8 July, Kick off: 4pm


Last time they met


The Rabbitohs took on Cabramatta back in Round 4 at New Era Stadium and battled out a tough 24-18 win.

The in-form Souths were matched all the way in a gruelling encounter, with a double to lock forward Nikitah Wilson proving the difference.


Key matchup

Jessica Potter v Dahlia Tahu


Not one of the heavyweight matchups but definitely the most intriguing is the battle between the two number 9s.

Jessica Potter has featured for Souths a couple of times this year filling in for NSW Blues dummy-half Rebecca Riley commendably.

She faces a tough task this week as she lines up against Dahlia Tahu, who has been in electric form this season for Cabramatta scoring seven tries.

Potter will need to be on her 'A Game' on Sunday but with a home crowd cheering her on she will have plenty of motivation to match her counterpart.



Rabbitohs Cabramatta
1. Nakia Davis-Welsh  1. Botille Vette-Welsh
2. Taleena Simon  2. Arerina Ihaka
3. Emma Gillogly   3. Montana Fonua
4. Kyara Nean 4. Quilaine Papua
5. Sharon McGrady   5. Chanel Steiner
6. Lavina O'Mealey (C)  6. Chelsea Peyroux
7. Maddie Studdon 7. Raecene McGregor
8. Kowana Welsh  8. Elisapeta Taufaao
9. Jessica Potter 9. Dahlia Tahu
10. Kimbaley Kershaw 10. Harmony Tahana-Reneti
11. Chloe Caldwell  11. Victoria Latu
12. Meleana Waters  12. Hanna Sio
13. Nikitah Wilson  13. Tenia Clark
14. Grace Uluiburotu  14. A. Fasavalu-Fa'amausili
15. Karri Doyle  15. Kirsty Robins
16. Eloise Vunakece  16. Shania Tatana
17. Moniqua Moale  17. Tasman Higgins
18. Eunice Grimes  18. Tatiana Papua
19. Narikah Johnson   
20. Ianeta Baker   
Head Coach. Danny Allende  



The matchup between these two sides is sure to be fierce with both sides playing for the Minor Premiership. 

Currently, Souths sit in first on 20 points with a superior goal difference to their opponents while Cabramatta sits in third on 18 points. 

If Mounties, the other team vying for the Minor Premiership, slip up on Saturday afternoon, a win for the Rabbitohs would see them secure the Minor Premiership. 

However, a win for Cabramatta would open up the competition for a final day showdown with all three times vying for the title. 

It's to tough to call this one but back on home turf is sure to give the Rabbitohs a huge advantage.


Become a Member today!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.