Team list

Walters Shakes Up Queensland Maroons Side For Game II

Maroons coach Kevin Walters has today unveiled a new-look team to play the NSW Blues in Game II of the Holden State of Origin series at ANZ Stadium.

Tim Glasby, Coen Hess, Valentine Holmes and Jarrod Wallace have been selected to make their Origin debuts, while Billy Slater, Johnathan Thurston and Gavin Cooper are all back for the must-win match.

Cooper and Slater missed selection for Game I, but their impressive NRL form has got them over the line for the Sydney blockbuster. 

2018 Rabbitohs recruit Dane Gagai has retained his Maroons jersey after a brilliant display in Game I.

Thurston is once again set to wear the No. 6 Maroons jersey after a successful comeback from injury for the Cowboys last weekend. 

The new quartet of Glasby, Hess, Holmes and Wallace all have experience in the Queensland system, having attended the QAS Emerging Origin camp on the Gold Coast earlier this year.

Wallace was 18th man for Game I last month, although the Titans forward will have to successfully challenge a judiciary charge if he is to play next Wednesday night. 

Players omitted from Queensland’s Game I team are Corey Oates, Justin O’Neill, Anthony Milford (injury), Nate Myles, Sam Thaiday, Aidan Guerra and Jacob Lillyman. 

Queensland Maroons

Darius Boyd - Brisbane Broncos 
Will Chambers - Melbourne Storm
Gavin Cooper - North Qld Cowboys
Cooper Cronk - Melbourne Storm
Dane Gagai - Newcastle Knights
Matt Gillett - Brisbane Broncos
Tim Glasby - Melbourne Storm
Coen Hess - North Qld Cowboys
Valentine Holmes - Cronulla Sharks
Josh McGuire - Brisbane Broncos
Michael Morgan - North Qld Cowboys
Dylan Napa - Sydney Roosters
Josh Papalii - Canberra Raiders
Billy Slater - Melbourne Storm
Cameron Smith - Melbourne Storm
Johnathan Thurston - North Qld Cowboys
Jarrod Wallace - Gold Coast Titans 

Coach - Kevin Walters

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.