Team list

Walker Collects 2016 John Sattler Rookie of the Year Award

Rabbitohs five-eighth Cody Walker has been awarded the 2016 John Sattler Rookie of the Year that has topped off what will be a memorable debut year for Walker.

The award is Walker’s third of the night as he also took home the Roy Asotasi Members’ Choice Award and the Tooheys New Fan Player of the Year Award, presented at tonight’s (Friday’s) Red and Green Ball.

Walker earned his spot in the Rabbitohs’ starting side with his fantastic performances throughout his debut year, mainly at five-eighth and fullback. Walker scored eight tries and assisted with 12. He made 225 runs covering 2022 metres in 20 games.

Walker has been described as ‘a natural footballer’ by his teammate Greg Inglis and was recognised across the NRL, named as the RLPA Rookie of the Year.

Walker has signed with the Rabbitohs until the end of the 2018 season and will continue to aim to make an impact in the cardinal and myrtle.  

The Rookie of the Year award is named after one of South Sydney’s most inspirational players of all time in the form of the legendary John Sattler. Sattler captained the Rabbitohs to four Premiership victories in five years from 1967 to 1971, including the famous 1970 Grand Final in which he played for 77 minutes of the game with a jaw broken in three places.

Walker was presented his award by Football Club and Member Co. Director, Nik Hatzistergos.

Congratulations to Cody on winning the John Sattler Rookie of the Year.


Previous Winners:

2003 – Mark Minichiello

2004 – Joe Williams

2005 – Manase Manuokafoa and Yileen Gordon

2006 – Germaine Paulson

2007 – Issac Luke

2008 – Chris Sandow

2009 – David Tyrrell

2010 – Dylan Farrell

2011 – Nathan Peats

2012 – Adam Reynolds

2013 – Dylan Walker

2014 - Alex Johnston

2015 – Chris Grevsmuhl


Previous Awards Tonight:

Walker Proves to be Members’ Choice

Turner is The Burrow’s Favourite

Tooheys New Fan Player of the Year

Sands Wins NYC Best and Fairest Award

Sands Takes Out NYC Players’ Player Award for 2016


Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.