Team list

UPDATED: Big Guns and Rivalries in 2017 Auckland Nines Draw

The South Sydney Rabbitohs have drawn some of the games big guns and will continue a long-standing rivalry at the 2017 Downer NRL Auckland Nines, with the pools being selected this morning (Thursday) in Auckland.

The Rabbitohs have been drawn in the Hanua Pool, with 2015 Nines champions set to take on the 2014 Nines champions in the North Queensland Cowboys, arch rivals the Sydney Roosters and exciting young outfit in the Canberra Raiders in the pool stages.

The Rabbitohs were drawn against the Roosters in last year’s competition, defeating them 14-13 in the opening game of the tournament.

Souths also drew the Cowboys in the Waiheke pool in 2015, defeating the north Queenslanders 19-12.

The Rabbitohs have never played the Raiders in the Nines format, but the Raiders will be looking improve on their quarter finals finish in the 2016 tournament.

The Downer NRL Auckland Nines will be played at Eden Park in Auckland over the weekend of Saturday 4 February and Sunday 5 February.

The pools for the 2017 Downer Auckland Nines are:

Hunua Pool

South Sydney Rabbitohs, North Queensland Cowboys, Sydney Roosters, Canberra Raiders

Pihu Pool

New Zealand Warriors, St. George-Illawarra Dragons, Parramatta Eels, Manly Sea Eagles

Waiheke Pool

Cronulla Sharks, Gold Coast Titans, Penrith Panthers, Canterbury Bankstown-Bulldogs

Rangitoto Pool

Wests Tigers, Brisbane Broncos, Melbourne Storm, Newcastle Knights

The 2017 Downer NRL Auckland Nines draw is (local NZ time):

Game 1 - Sat 12pm - Sharks vs Titans

Game 2 - Sat 12:25pm - Panthers vs Bulldogs

Game 3 - Sat 12:50pm - Dragons vs Eels

Game 4 - Sat 1:15pm - Warriors vs Sea Eagles

Game 5 - Sat 1:50pm - Knights vs Tigers

Game 6 - Sat 2:15pm - Broncos vs Storm

Game 7 - Sat 2:40pm - Cowboys vs Roosters

Game 8 - Sat 3:05pm - Rabbitohs vs Raiders

Women's Game 1 - Sat 3:30pm - New Zealand vs Australia

Game 9 - Sat 3:55pm - Sharks vs Panthers

Game 10 - Sat 4:20pm - Titans vs Bulldogs

Game 11 - Sat 4:45pm - Dragons vs Sea Eagles

Game 12 - Sat 5:10pm - Warriors vs Eels

Game 13 - Sat 5:45pm - Knights vs Broncos

Game 14 - Sat 6:10pm - Tigers vs Storm

Game 15 - Sat 6:35pm - Cowboys vs Raiders

Game 16 - Sat 7pm - Rabbitohs vs Roosters

Game 17 - Sun 10:35am - Sharks vs Bulldogs

Game 18 - Sun 11am - Titans vs Panthers

Game 19 - Sun 11:25am - Sea Eagles vs Eels

Game 20 - Sun 11:50am - Warriors vs Dragons

Game 21 - Sun 12:15pm - Tigers vs Broncos

Game 22 - Sun 12:40pm - Knights vs Storm

Game 23 - Sun 1:05pm - Rabbitohs vs Cowboys

Game 24 - Sun 1:30pm - Roosters vs Raiders

QF1 - Sun 1:55pm - Waiheke 1st vs Piha 2nd

QF2 - Sun 2:20pm - Waiheke 2nd vs Piha 1st

QF3 - Sun 3:05pm - Rangitoto 1st vs Hunua 2nd

QF4 - Sun 3:30pm - Rangitoto 2nd vs Hunua 1st

Women's Game 2 - Sun 3:55pm - New Zealand vs Australia

SF1 - Sun 4:40pm - Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2

SF2 - Sun 5:05pm - Winner QF3 vs Winner QF4

Women's Game 3 - Sun 5:50pm - New Zealand vs Australia

Final - Sun 6:40pm - Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

The Rabbitohs have launched their 2017 Auckland Nines Jersey.

To pre-purchase yours now, please click here.

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.