Team list

The Ron Coote Cup Is Great Motivation For The Players

The South Sydney Rabbitohs will compete against the Sydney Roosters tonight in round four of the NRL Premiership in the first of two games in contest for the Ron Coote Cup.

The Ron Coote Cup is named after Club legend, Ron Coote. Coote is celebrated as a local legend, having played for, captained and won Premierships with both the Rabbitohs and Roosters between 1964 and 1978. The Souths junior was also an accomplished representative player, having represented NSW (15 caps) Australia (23, including World Cup matches) in addition to holding the honour of captaining his country.

“The Ron Coote Cup is great motivation for the players, he is a legend of the game and of this Club,” said captain Sam Burgess.

“This is the first of two games and the Roosters are in good form so we are excited for a good challenge tonight.”

Coote clocked up a massive 259 first grade games in his career wearing the red and green jersey in 151 appearances up until 1972 when he moved clubs to Eastern Suburbs. He was the first player to play 100 first game matches for two different clubs and upon his retirement, established the Men of League Foundation.

The Ron Coote Cup was first awarded in 2007 and has been in the hands of the Rabbitohs on four occasions. In 2016, the Rabbitohs claimed the silverware after defeating the Roosters with an aggregate score of 52 points to 27 despite each team winning a game.

Despite being at the Club for less than six months, Robbie Rochow perceives the Ron Coote Cup as an opportunity to play for and represent past players of South Sydney.

“Obviously there have been some great players come through South Sydney so it’s great to put on the jersey and represent past players,” explained Rochow. 

The Rabbitohs will be looking to reclaim the Cup with the first contest taking place tonight at ANZ Stadium in round four.


Name: Ron Coote

Date of Birth: 25 October 1944

Position: lock/second row

Junior Club: Kensington United Dragons

Also played for: Eastern Suburbs

Premierships: 6 (4 with the Rabbitohs & 2 with the Roosters)

Representative Games: Australia (23 Games); NSW (14 games); NSW City Firsts (4 games)

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.