Team list

Rugby League World Cup 2017 Draw Announced

The Rugby League World Cup 2017 Organising Committee today announced the Draw for the Tournament to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand from 27 October – 2 December 2017.
Greg Inglis’ Kangaroos will meet the Burgess Brothers’ and Joe Burgess’ English team in a blockbuster opening match of the RLWC2017, under lights at Melbourne Rectangular Stadium on Friday 27 October.
On Saturday 28 October, the Kiwis first pool match will be played at the home of Rugby League in New Zealand – Auckland’s Mt Smart Stadium – when they take on Pacific rivals Samoa.
In October 2015, the RLWC2017 OC announced Papua New Guinea (PNG) as a hosting partner of the World Cup, with Port Moresby to host the PNG Kumuls’ three pool matches against two European Qualifiers and the USA.  The first match is scheduled for Saturday 28 October and in a country where Rugby League is the national sport, the passionate fans of PNG are sure to embrace the sport’s pinnacle event.
The winner of the RLWC2017 will be decided at Brisbane Stadium on Saturday 2 December, as the two finalists battle it out for the right to hold aloft the Paul Barrière trophy and claim the title of World Cup winners.

Two of the Rabbitohs’ homes-away-from-home, Barlow Park in Cairns and Perth Rectangular Stadium (known as nib Stadium), will also host matches in the 2017 World Cup.

RLWC2017 Chief Executive Officer, Michael Brown, said the Organising Committee made a deliberate decision to take the Rugby League World Cup to more fans than any World Cup has done before.  

“The Tournament Draw demonstrates how far and wide we are taking matches, from established Rugby League communities, to those new and emerging fan bases in all three countries. 

“Over the course of the pool stages we have looked to position matches in strong Rugby League communities and where large populations of ex-pats, Pacifica and Indigenous fans live, to give those who love the sport and their national teams the chance to see some World Cup action.

“The decision to take matches to places like Darwin, Perth, Christchurch and Port Moresby were made with the future of the game in mind.  They are matches we believe will give profile to the sport in markets that have already shown an appetite for Rugby League.”
The RLWC2017 Tournament Draw is family-friendly by intention, with all matches to be played across the weekend including Friday night games.  There will be three double-headers in Cairns, Perth and Townsville, providing additional value for money for fans.

“We not only want to see traditional rugby league fans come out to support their national team, we aim to engage with the local communities of all participating teams to deliver an event that will entertain the world, inspire communities and celebrate Rugby League,” continued Brown.
“Rugby League is truly a game for everyone.  We hope the Rugby League World Cup 2017 leaves a legacy for the game that sees it continue to grow and dominate the sporting landscape.”

Tournament Pools

With 11 teams already confirmed, the final three teams will come from the European Qualifying Tournament to be played in October and November this year.  The teams who are still in the race include Wales, Ireland, Russia, Serbia, Italy and Spain.
The pool structure reflects that of the successful 2013 Tournament. The composition of the pools for RLWC2017 were shaped by a number of considerations, including the final placings from the 2013 World Cup and current world rankings.
Pool A

Pool B
New Zealand
Pool C
Papua New Guinea
European Qualifier 1
European Qualifier 2
Pool D
European Qualifier 3

Rugby League World Cup 2017 Full Tournament Draw plus Finals information

As co-hosts of the tournament, the RLWC2017 Organising Committee wanted to give certainty to the Australian and New Zealand fans who want to pre-arrange travel to these matches to support their team.

The Rugby League International Federation (RLIF) has approved that if Australia qualifies for a Quarter-Final, it will play in Darwin. If New Zealand qualifies for a Quarter-Final, it will play in Wellington. If Australia and New Zealand were to play each other in a Quarter-Final or Semi-Final, whoever finishes higher in the pool stage will get the home advantage. The full Quarter-Final fixture will be finalised at the conclusion of the pool stages, taking into consideration hosting requirements.
If Australia and New Zealand make the Semi-Finals they will play in Brisbane and Auckland respectively.

Rugby League World Cup 2017 Tournament Draw

*Kick off times to be announced ahead of tournament

Friday 27 October 2017

Pool A – Round 1 – Australia vs England – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium

Saturday 28 October 2017

Pool C – Round 1 – Papua New Guinea vs European Qualifier 1 – Port Moresby

Pool B – Round 1 – New Zealand vs Samoa – Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland

Pool D – Round 1 – Fiji vs USA – Townsville Stadium

Sunday 29 October 2017

Pool B – Round 1 – Scotland vs Tonga – Barlow Park, Cairns

Pool C/D – Round 1 – European Qualifier 2 vs European Qualifier 3 – Barlow Park, Cairns

Pool A – Round 1 – France vs Lebanon – Canberra Stadium

Friday 3 November 2017

Pool A – Round 2 – Australia vs France – Canberra Stadium

Saturday 4 November 2017

Pool B – Round 2 – New Zealand vs Scotland – Christchurch Stadium

Pool B – Round 2 – Samoa vs Tonga – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton

Pool A – Round 2 - England vs Lebanon – Sydney Football Stadium

Sunday 5 November 2017

Pool C – Round 2 - Papua new Guinea vs European Qualifier 2 – Port Moresby

Pool D – Round 2 - European Qualifier 3 vs USA – Townsville Stadium

Pool C/D – Round 2 - Fiji vs European Qualifier 1 – Townsville Stadium

Friday 10 November 2017

Pool D – Round 3 - Fiji vs European Qualifier 3 – Canberra Stadium

Saturday 11 November 2017

Pool B – Round 3 – Samoa vs Scotland – Barlow Park, Cairns

Pool B – Round 3 – New Zealand vs Tonga – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton

Pool A – Round 3 – Australia vs Lebanon – Sydney Football Stadium

Sunday 12 November 2017

Pool C/D – Round 3 – Papua New Guinea vs USA – Post Moresby

Pool C – Round 3 - European Qualifier 1 vs European Qualifier 2 – Perth Rectangular Stadium

Pool A - Round 3 - England vs France - Perth Rectangular Stadium

Friday 17 November 2017

Quarter Final – Darwin Stadium

Saturday 18 November 2017

Quarter Final – Christchurch Stadium

Quarter Final – Wellington Regional Stadium

Sunday 19 November 2017

Quarter Final – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium

Friday 24 November 2017

Semi Final – Brisbane Stadium

Saturday 25 November 2017

Semi Final – Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland

Saturday 2 December 2017

Final – Brisbane Stadium

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.