Team list

Roosters Team for Round 1

The Roosters have named their team to face your Rabbitohs in their opening clash of the 2016 NRL season this Sunday at Allianz Stadium.

After a pre-season that saw the Bondi club travel to Dubai for a pre-season camp before heading to Manchester to set up camp for the World Club Series, coach Trent Robinson has named the same youthful side that defeated St Helens at Langtree Park in that tournament.

Young guns, Latrell Mitchell, Jayden Nikorima, and Vincent Leuluai have all been named to make their NRL debut for the Tricolours against the Rabbitohs following their solid pre-season showings.

The Roosters will be without the services of work-horse forwards, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Boyd Cordner, opening the door for the likes of Isaac Liu and Ian Henderson to come into the side – Henderson set to make his first start for the Roosters in over 11 years.

Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Daniel Tupou and Blake Ferguson will make up a potent combination at the back that will test the Rabbitohs.


Click here to see South Sydney’s team for Round 1


The Roosters team for Round 1 to take on the Rabbitohs is:

1) Blake Ferguson

2) Daniel Tupou

3) Dale Copley

4) Shaun Kenny-Dowall

5) Latrell Mitchell

6) Jayden Nikorima

7) Jackson Hastings

8) Kane Evans

9) Jake Friend (c)

10) Dylan Napa

11) Aidan Guerra

12) Mitchell Aubusson

13) Isaac Liu


14) Sio Siua Taukeiaho

15) Sam Moa

16) Ian Henderson

17) Vincent Leuluai

18) Mitchell Frei

19) Joe Burgess

Coach: Trent Robinson


Stand Above the Rest and become a Member in 2016!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.