Team list

Rabbitohs stars set for Commonwealth Champs

Five South Sydney Rabbitohs players have been announced to compete at the 2018 Rugby Commonwealth Championship kicking off this Friday.

Young Souths forward Ky Rodwell will join new Rabbitohs Women's players Maddie Studdon and Nakia Davis-Welsh as Australian representatives, while Kobe Dymock and Meleanna Waters will play for Tonga's Women's team. 

This is in addition to the already named Rabbitohs Physical Disability players, Jono Smith, Nicholas Riches and Todd Philpott representing Australia and Tyson Dargin and Terry Litton who will run out for the Commonwealth All Stars. 

This means Souths will have a total number of 10 players compete at the two day action-packed tournament that is now ready to dazzle fans at Redcliffe's Dolphin Stadium from 23-24 February. 

Minister for the Commonwealth Games Kate Jones, has welcomed all teams and players, which includes 17 teams from across 11 Commonwealth Nations. 

“Spectators will see world-class rugby league action at Dolphin Stadium, with Redcliffe continuing the legacy of the Rugby League Commonwealth Championship which kicked off in Glasgow prior to the 2014 Commonwealth Games,” Ms Jones said.

The 2018 Rugby Commonwealth Championship is set to promote the game even further, and a surprised but honoured Rabbitohs forward Ky Rodwell can’t wait to get in among the action.

“It’s great honour to represent Australia, I was a little bit surprised because you need speed to play the game and I’ve never been known for my lightning speed but I’ll try hopefully I’ll add some grunt and strength in the middle of the pack,” Said Rodwell.

“I’ve represented Australia at other junior levels and I can’t wait for my next challenge in the Green and Gold.”

Tournament details:

When: Friday 23 February – Saturday 24 February

Where: Dolphin Stadium, Redcliffe, Queensland

Tickets and draw: For details please click here


Become a Member today!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.