Team list

Rabbitohs players star in Commonwealths

South Sydney Rabbitohs stars have put on a show at the Rugby League Commonwealth Championship, as all three Australian national teams won gold.

Each of the Australian sides were undefeated throughout the two-day tournament at Moreton Bay, rewarding the home crowd who turned out to Dolphin Stadium in Redcliffe despite some ugly weather conditions.

Physical Disability

The first gold of the weekend was won by the Australian Physical Disability Rugby League side, with Rabbitohs players  Jono Smith, Nicholas Riches and Todd Philpott playing a big part.

Australia won all three of their matches on their way to the final including a win over the Commonwealth All Stars and fellow Souths teammates Tyson Dargin and Terry Litton.

The final against trans-Tasman rival New Zealand didn’t quite live up to the hype, as the battle for Gold finished a 0-0 draw but due to a superior win loss record in the pool stages, the Green and Gold took home the accolades.


In the Women’s comp Australia powered past a strong Samoan side 14-8 to claim the awards.

South Sydney Rabbitohs fullback Nakia Davis-Welsh was the star of the tournament registering a try in every game, as the Jillaroos added another title to their impressive list of accomplishments in 2018.

Halfback Maddie Studdon also shined for Australia while Kobe Dymock and Meleanna Waters put in strong performances for Tonga. 

Men's Under 23s

Ky Rodwell featured as Australia claimed a 14-8 win over Tonga in their final.

It would be the closest Australia would come to losing across the whole weekend as the young Aussies were untouchable in the group stages, scoring close to 100 points and conceding just four in their pool matches.

The final was a much tougher affair but the Green and Gold managed to finish strong to make it a clean sweep for Australia.


Become a Member today!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.