Team list

Rabbitohs nominated for NRL Hall of Fame

South Sydney Rabbitohs legends Ian Moir and Elwyn Walters have been nominated for the 2018 NRL Hall of Fame.

Moir played over 250 games for the Cardinal and Myrtle between 1952 and 1958 while Walters played just over 50 between 1967 and 1973.

Moir and Walters join a list of famous faces including the likes of Cliff Lyons, Jack 'Bluey' Watkins, Petero Civoniceva, Stacey Jones and Ricky Stuart, with an independent screening committee whittling down a provisional list of more than 100 former rugby league players, to just 25.

NRL Chief Executive, Todd Greenberg said all nominees were well credentialed to be included in the final list, prior to the announcement of the new Hall of Fame inductees in July.

"The players nominated collectively represent thousands of matches, hundreds of rugby league years and millions of memories for fans," Mr Greenberg said.

"Their on-field performances live on today among the many passionate supporters who saw them play – and they will never be forgotten.

"All 25 are worthy nominees, given the roles they played inmaking Rugby League such a great sport."

Senior Manager of NRL Awards, Frank Puletua said the 25 nominees would now go to a Voting College of 25 judges, representing a cross-section of the game.

"The Voting College will select their top five players who they believe should be included amongst the best of the best as part of our Hall of Fame," Mr Puletua said.

"Every one of the nominees displayed excellence, persistence and sheer determination time and again during their playing career and each has a strong case to be included as a Hall of Fame inductee this year.

"Since the announcement earlier this year of the resurgence of the Hall of Fame and Immortals concepts, there has been a passionate discussion amongst fans, coaches, players and commentators alike and I'm sure this will continue throughout years to come.

"The next step will be to announce and induct six new Hall of Fame members later this year, joining the 100 Hall of Fame members automatically inducted as part of the Game's Centenary year in 2008."

The six new Hall of Fame recipients will be announced in July, before being formally inducted into the Hall of Fame in August.

Up to two new Immortals will also be announced and inducted as part of a gala ceremony in August.

To view a list of the 2018 NRL Hall of Fame Nominees, click here.

To view the 2018 NRL Hall of Fame Screening Committee (panellists selecting the 25 nominees), click here.

To view the Hall of Fame and Immortals voting process, click here.

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.