Team list

Rabbitohs name Squads for Round 1 NRL and Canterbury Cup

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are pleased to announce their 21-man NRL squad for their round one fixture against the Sydney Roosters at the Sydney Cricket Ground this Friday 15 March at 7:55pm.

In what is the first leg of the Ron Coote Cup for 2019, Rabbitohs Head Coach Wayne Bennett has named Alex Johnston at fullback, captain Greg Inglis in the centres, Adam Reynolds at halfback and rookie Corey Allan on an extended interchange bench.

The Ron Coote Cup celebrates the career of one of the game’s greatest players, Ron Coote AM, who won six premierships and played in nine Grand Finals during his 15 seasons playing first-grade football with both South Sydney and Eastern Suburbs. The Ron Coote Cup is played across both home and away fixtures in any given season, with the winner determined by the aggregate score from those two regular season matches.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ 21-man NRL squad for Friday’s match against the Roosters is:

The South Sydney Rabbitohs will return to the elite NSWRL competitions in 2019 when the Canterbury Cup team takes on Foundation Club rivals the North Sydney Bears at the Metricon High Performance Centre at Redfern Oval on Sunday 17 March at 1:10pm.

Redfern Oval will be the main home ground for the Rabbitohs’ pathways teams in 2019, with the Canterbury Cup, Jersey Flegg under 20s, and NSWRL Women’s teams to play out of the spiritual home of the Rabbitohs, along with the junior representative SG Ball Cup under 18s and Harold Matthews Cup under 16s teams during their competitions.

The North Sydney Bears have been the Rabbitohs’ feeder club in the NSW Cup competition since 2007, meaning this will be the first time in 12 years that these 1908 clubs have faced-off in the NSWRL’s top competition.

The Rabbitohs’ game days at Redfern Oval this year will be big community events with plenty of entertainment around the ground for everyone. This Sunday some of the Rabbitohs NRL squad will be on hand to say g’day and get an autograph or a selfie, the Rabbitohs inflatable jumping castle and footy skills clinics will be in action, face painters will be on hand so you can turn yourself red and green, and the adults can enjoy a Young Henry’s beer along with a Garlo’s Pie as they watch the Rabbitohs return to Redfern.

Gates open at 12:30pm. Tickets are $5 for Rabbitohs Members, $10 for non-Members and kids under 12 are free. Tickets can be pre-purchased by visiting Tickets will also be available at the gate.

The Rabbitohs Canterbury Cup squad for Sunday’s match against the Bears is:

1) Lachlan Walmsley
2) Mawene Hiroti
3) Jacob Gagan
4) Cory Denniss
5) Leigh Higgins
6) Bayley Sironen
7) Connor Tracey
8) Tom Amone
9) Billy Brittain (c)
10) Rhys Kennedy
11) Kyle Turner
12) Dean Britt
13) Keaon Koloamatangi
14) Jack Johns
15) Yileen Gordon
16) Brock Gray
17) Lucky Ta'avale 
18) Trent Peoples 
19) Ky Rodwell
Head Coach: Shane Millard


Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.