Team list

PCYC Nations Of Origins To Play At Half-Time

This Sunday, when the South Sydney Rabbitohs take on the Penrith Panthers at ANZ Stadium, the PCYC Nations of Origin teams representing Eora and Darug Nations will take to the field at half-time to play demonstration games of Rugby League 7’s.

The games will be played across the field allowing two games to be played simultaneously with one team consisting of players from the boys U16 team and the other with players from the girls U16 side.

Buy Tickets

Nations of Origin is a multi-faceted sport, cultural, education and leadership program focusing on four key components; Reconciliation, Education, Cultural Identity and Sport.

The program is aimed at increasing school retention with all participants required to have 80% school attendance to be eligible to participate. All participating sporting teams must consist of Aboriginal and Non-Aboriginal young people with a ratio of 70:30 in the formation of the teams.

The 2017 Nations of Origin tournament is one of the largest Aboriginal youth events in NSW and sees up to 60 Rugby League teams, 15 Netball teams and 20 Soccer teams. This adds up to over 1000 young people registered to participate.

Each team represents an Aboriginal Nation and wears the totem of that Nation similar to the indigenous round in AFL and NRL.

In addition to playing in the tournaments participants are offered the opportunity to further engage with PCYC to develop their skills and character through various leadership, citizenship, sporting and wellbeing programs.

Nations of Origin 2017 will be held in the Hunter Region for the third consecutive year taking place between the 11-13 July. Below is a breakdown of the event details.


Under 14s Competition

Dates: Tuesday 11 July 2017

Venue: Raymond Terrace Netball Courts

William-Bailey Street, Raymond Terrace

Times: 8:30am – 4:30pm

Rugby League

Under 16s Competition

Dates: Wednesday 12 July & Thursday 13 July

Venue: Lakeside Sports Complex

8 Leisure way, Raymond Terrace

Times: 8:30am – 4:30pm


Football Fives

Under 14s Competition

Dates: Thursday 13 July 2017

Venue: Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility,

13 Park Road, Speers Point

Times: 8:30am – 4:30pm


Cultural Evening

Dates: Tuesday 11 July 2017

Venue: Murrook Cultural Centre,

2163 Nelson Bay Road, Williamtown

Times: 6:00pm – 9:00pm


Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.