Team list

NYC Rabbitohs Fire At Redfern Oval Against Melbourne Storm

Despite a Melbourne Storm fightback in the second half of today’s National Youth Competition clash at Redfern Oval, the South Sydney Rabbitohs Youth team defeated the Melbourne Storm 44-18 to register their third win of the season.

It didn’t take long for the Rabbitohs to set the pace at Redfern Oval, scoring in the 8th minute through hooker Jalen Reweti. Dean Hawkins converted the effort to give the Rabbitohs an early 6-0 lead over the visitors.

It would be the Rabbitohs edge play that would be too much for the Storm to handle with Tyrone Taukamo finishing out wide in the 13th minute and Dylan O’Connor scoring in the 29th. Dean Hawkins continued his good start with then boot to convert both efforts.

Dylan O’Connor would bag his second try of the match with a length of the field try coming from an intercept deep in his own territory. With the Dean Hawkins conversion the Rabbitohs would come out strongly to lead 24-0 after 34 minutes.

Fullback Beau Cordtz got in on the action in a similar fashion to O’Connor’s effort, scoring a length of the field try after picking up an attacking grubber inside his goal line. Hawkins would miss his first conversion of the game and the young Rabbitohs would enter the sheds 28-0 at half time.

Whilst the first half was a display of dominance from the young Rabbitohs outside backs, the second half would showcase their forward packs ability as Sam Johnston and Josh Saunders barged over to score in the 45th and 55th minutes respectively. Hawkins had no problems converting and the Rabbitohs would record an unanswered 40 points against their opposition.

The Storm’s Jesse Arthars would attempt to inspire his team to fight back, scoring a try and converting his own effort in the 58th minute.

However, Mawene Hiroti would hit back shortly after in the 61st minute to re-establish the Rabbitohs dominance. Dean Hawkins would miss this kicking attempt and the scores would sit at 44-6.

The Rabbitohs, comfortable ahead on the scoreboard, would take their foot off the pedal and allow the Storm to rack up two quick tries with Dechlan Day and Kea Pere both registering points for the visiting side in the 68th and 70th minute.

It would be too little, too late for the Storm as the clock ran down with the Rabbitohs winning the round with a 44-18 scoreline.

Souths 44 (Dylan O'Connor 2, Jalen Reweti, Tyrone Taukamo, Beau Cordtz, Sam Johnstone, Josh Saunders, Mawene Hiroti tries; Dean Hawkins 6 goals)


Storm 18 (Jesse Arthars, Dechlan Day, Key Pere tries; Jesse Arthars 3 goals)

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.