Team list

Line up - Rabbitohs v Dragons

Dane Gagai is set to pull on the mighty Red and Green jersey for the first time when the South Sydney Rabbitohs face St George Illawarra Dragons in the Charity Shield. 

Head Coach Anthony Seibold has named a 21-man squad for the 35th edition of the Charity Shield with Sam Burgess, Dane Gagai, John Sutton, Cody Walker and Braidon Burns set to play their first match of the year at the Glen Willow Stadium in Mudgee.

In the first time ever that the unofficial start to the Rugby League season has travelled over the mountains, the Rabbitohs will be looking to secure their sixth straight Charity Shield title, equal to the Dragons streak of six titles between 1993 and 1998.

This is the 35th edition of the Charity Shield, presented in 2018 by Westfund, which was first played in 1982 at Redfern Oval, and is always played with an intensity greater than other pre-season matches.

Souths Cares will be the beneficiary from the Rabbitohs’ proceeds from the Charity Shield. The Rabbitohs’ entire appearance fee from Mid-Western Regional Council will be donated to Souths Cares to assist the organisation in operating its programs for disadvantaged, marginalized and Indigenous youth and their families in the South Sydney district and around the State.

In partnership with the University of NSW, Souths Cares will be delivering a healthy lifestyle and wellbeing program to 1,200 high school children in Mudgee and the Central West with the aim of increasing awareness and access to UNSW for kids in regional areas and UNSW’s Winter School program.

Souths Cares made a trip to Mudgee and the surrounding area in November last year, delivering their Oral Health program in conjunction with Colgate and the Poche Centre with Souths Cares ambassador Beau Champion and Rabbitohs player Kyle Turner visiting 1,300 primary school students in Mudgee, Gulgong, Kandos and Rylstone, as well as conducting a coaching clinic at Glen Willow Stadium.

The Rabbitohs vs Dragons match will kick off at 7:30pm with the curtain raiser between the NSW Indigenous under 16s and the Queensland Indigenous under 16s commencing at 5:30pm. Gates will open at Glen Willow Stadium at 5:15pm. Tickets are available by visiting, by calling 132 849 or by visiting any Ticketek outlet.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs squad for Saturday’s Charity Shield against the Dragons is:

Line up  
              1     Alex Johnston 
              2    Richard Kennar 
              3      Hymel Hunt 
              4      Dane Gagai 
              5    Robert Jennings 
              6     Cody Walker 
              7     Adam Doueihi 
              8    Thomas Burgess 
              9     Damien Cook  
            10     Mark Nicholls 
            11       John Sutton 
            12    Tyrell Fuimaono 
            13      Sam Burgess 
            14      Robbie Farah 
            15       Jason Clark  
            16    George Burgess 
            17      Junior Tatola 
            18        Dean Britt 
            19     Braidon Burns 
            20      Jacob Gagan  
            21   Zane Musgrove
  Head Coach    Anthony Seibold

The North Sydney Bears face the St George Illawarra Dragons on Sunday at WIN Stadium in their final trial before their Intrust Super Premiership opener. Their line up is:

Line up  
              1        Mawene Hiroti 
              2    Asher Veamatahau
              3   Amaruki Veamataha 
              4           Jake Tago
              5        Sean Sabutey  
              6       Connor Tracey 
              7        Dean Hawkins 
              8       Vincent Leuluai  
              9        Billy Brittain   
            10        Rhys Kennedy  
            11        Siosifa Talakai  
            12      Tarquinn Alatipi 
            13           Max Bailey  
            14         Ky Rodwell 
            15       Sam Johnstone  
            16         Jesse Martin 
            17         Tom Freebairn
            18     Jackson Williams
            19   Keaon Koloamatangi 
            20         Kurtis Preece  
  Head Coach        Shane Millard



Become a Member today!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.