Team list

John Sattler Rookie of the Year - Adam Doueihi

Rabbitohs utility Adam Doueihi has been awarded the 2018 John Sattler Rookie of the Year at the Red and Green Ball.

Arriving at the Club in 2017, Doueihi impressed in his stints in the NYC and ISP sides, making his international debut for Lebanon in the Rugby League World Cup at the end of the year.

In 2018 he made his first grade debut in round two against the Penrith Panthers, replacing halfback Adam Reynolds, going on to lead the side to back-to-back victories against the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles and Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs in the following two weeks in the number seven jersey.

The 20-year-old proved his worth as a versatile squad member, playing fullback, centre, in the halves, at hooker and filling in off the bench throughout the season. Eventually, he would go on to make 15 appearances for the Cardinal and Myrtle, scoring two tries and kicking nine goals in a memorable debut year.

The Rookie of the Year Award is named after South Sydney legend John Sattler who famously led the Rabbitohs into battle in the 1960's and '70's. He had his jaw broken in the opening minutes of the 1970 Grand Final, going on to play the rest of match in a performance that has been written into Rugby League folklore.

Doueihi was presented with the award by Souths Juniors President Keith McCraw, becoming the 17th recipient of the award.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs would like to congratulate Adam on be named the John Sattler Rookie of the Year for 2018.

Previous Winners:

2002 - Scott Geddes
2003 – Mark Minichiello
2004 – Joe Williams
2005 – Manase Manuokafoa and Yileen Gordon
2006 – Germaine Paulson
2007 – Issac Luke
2008 – Chris Sandow
2009 – David Tyrrell
2010 – Dylan Farrell
2011 – Nathan Peats
2012 – Adam Reynolds
2013 – Dylan Walker
2014 – Alex Johnston
2015 – Chris Grevsmuhl
2016 – Cody Walker
2017 – Cameron Murray


Become a Member today!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.