Team list

Jack Rayner Players’ Player - Sam Burgess

Rabbitohs forward Sam Burgess has collected his fifth Jack Rayner Players' Player award at the 2018 Red and Green Ball.

Having been judged by his teammates as the best player of the year, Burgess was presented the award by General Manager of Football, Shane Richardson.

In another season filled with inspirational performances, Burgess once again affirmed himself as the cornerstone of the South Sydney forward pack, averaging over 147 metres per game in attack and over 32 tackles per game in defence in his 23 appearances. He also captained the side on eight occasions throughout the season in the absence of Greg Inglis.

Capping off a strong season in Red and Green, Burgess also committed to the Club by re-signing until the end of the 2023 season, which will make him a South Sydney player for life.

"I used to say before every game that we're more than a team. We're South Sydney. And that's more than evident" Burgess said.

The award is named after Club legend Jack Rayner, who captain-coached the Club to five premierships in the 1950s, whose leadership and values are still upheld with 'The Rabbitoh Way'.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs would like to congratulate Sam on his award, the first player to be awarded this honour by his peers on five occasions.

Previous Winners:

2002 - Paul Stringer and Scott Geddes
2003 – Luke Stuart
2004 – Ashley Harrison
2005 – Peter Cusack
2006 – Nathan Merritt
2007 – Roy Asotasi
2008 – Luke Stuart and Nathan Merritt
2009 – Luke Stuart
2010 – Sam Burgess
2011 – Chris Sandow
2012 – Greg Inglis
2013 – Sam Burgess
2014 – Sam Burgess
2015 – Greg Inglis
2016 – Sam Burgess
2017 – Angus Crichton


Become a Member today!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.