Team list

GI named Captain of the Kangaroos, Cook to debut

Congratulations to Greg Inglis and Damien Cook on their selections in the Australian squad for the end of season Test matches against Tonga and New Zealand.

Greg Inglis has been named captain of the Kangaroos. He will become the Club's sixth Australian captain and tenth international captain. 

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Kangaroos in Test matches against New Zealand and Tonga.

Three members of the Premiership-winning Sydney Roosters outfit have been selected in the Kangaroos squad, which will play the Kiwis on October 13 and Tonga on October 20 at Mt Smart Stadium.

The 19-man squad also includes four debutants; Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters), Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers) and James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters).

South Sydney's Greg Inglis has been appointed Captain following the Representative retirement of Cameron Smith.

"This is a new era for the Kangaroos and it is a very exciting one, based on the talent available," Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

"There is certainly a strong showing from the NSW squad which won the State of Origin series and we have a number of players who performed exceptionally well through the Finals Series as well as in the Grand Final.

"While there are only two Test matches for the Kangaroos this year they are extremely important to me and this squad.

"This will give us a good gauge of who we will be looking at to lead the Kangaroos into the future.

"The Kangaroos have not played the Kiwis in New Zealand for four years, and have not played in Auckland for six years, so the October 13 Test match will be an extremely important one for us.

"The first Test match ever against Tonga will also be a historic occasion not only for the Kangaroos but for the game as well."

The squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

Player NRL Club Junior Club
Reagan Campbell-Gillard Penrith Panthers Windsor Wolves
Daly Cherry-Evans Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Mackay Brothers
Damien Cook South Sydney Rabbitohs Helensburgh Tigers
Boyd Cordner Sydney Roosters Old Bar Pirates
Tyson Frizell St George Illawarra Dragons Corrimal Cougars
Valentine Holmes Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Western Lions/Townsville
Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons Blackwater Crushers
Greg Inglis (c) South Sydney Rabbitohs Bowraville/Wests Newcastle
Felise Kaufusi Melbourne Storm Bundaberg Brothers
David Klemmer Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs All Saints Toongabbie
Josh McGuire Brisbane Broncos Aspley
Jordan McLean North Queensland Cowboys Young Cherrypickers
Latrell Mitchell Sydney Roosters Taree Red Rovers
Cameron Munster Melbourne Storm Norths Knights
Tyrone Peachey Penrith Panthers Wellington Cowboys/Cronulla-Caringbah
James Tedesco Sydney Roosters Camden Rams
Jake Trbojevic Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Mona Vale Raiders
Tom Trbojevic Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Mona Vale Raiders
Aaron Woods Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Leichhardt Juniors

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.