Team list

Four Rabbitohs women selected for Country NSW

Four South Sydney Rabbitohs women's stars have been selected to play for NSW Country in the inaugural Women's National Championships, at Owen Park, Southport between June 1-3.

The Women's National Championships will feature NSW Country, NSW City, Queensland Country, Queensland City, Affiliated States and the Australian Defence Force; with all sides to play three games each across the tournament.

Country Rugby League CEO Terry Quinn believes the Women's National Championship provides a great opportunity for female players from Regional NSW to test themselves against the best players in Australia.

"We are extremely proud to be a part of the inaugural Women's National Championship and we're excited to see the best players from Country NSW competing on a national stage," said Quinn.

"The women's game continues to grow in all areas of Country Rugby League and having seven current Jillaroos in our squad is testament to the quality of players coming from Regional NSW.

"There have been some great announcements made for the women's game in recent times and we fully support the continual development of pathways for female players.

"I want to wish our team the best of luck in the National Championships and wish them all the best in gaining selection for New South Wales and the Jillaroos in the future."

The NRL will also host a Talent ID day on May 31 at Runaway Bay Rugby League Football Club, in partnership with Griffith University and prior to the Championship.

The ID day will provide an opportunity for current female rugby league players, together with female athletes from across sporting codes, to test themselves across a range of rugby league skills and drills, with the chance to be involved in the 2018 Women's Premiership and beyond.

The National Championships will be live-streamed via the QRL website.

Country NSW Women's National Championships Squad:

Nakia Davis Welsh (South Sydney)

Eunice Grimes (South Sydney)

Kyara Nean (South Sydney)

Sharon McGrady (South Sydney)

Emma Young (CRL Newcastle)

Georgina Brooker (Cronulla Caringbah)

Holli Wheeler (CRL Newcastle)

Isabelle Kelly (CRL Newcastle)

Jayme Fressard (CRL Newcastle)

Kezie Apps (Helensburgh)

Kylie Hilder (CRL Newcastle)

Melanie Howard (CRL Newcastle)

Mikayla Malaki (Corrimal)

Ngalika Barker (CRL Newcastle)

Rebecca Young (CRL Newcastle)

Rikeya Horne (Corrimal)

Ruan Sims (Cronulla-Caringbah)

Samantha Bremner (Helensburgh)

Shakiah Tungai (Avondale)

Vanessa Foliaki (Brisbane Easts)

Coach: Matt Parish

This was first seen on


Become a Member today!

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.