Team list

Cook Wins Bob McCarthy Clubman Of The Year

Rabbitohs hooker Damien Cook has taken out the 2017 Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year awarded at tonight’s (Friday) Red and Green Ball.

Cook played in all but one game this season tallying up eight points through two tries. During his 1076 minutes of play, Cook made 24 offloads, 79 dummy half runs, 36 tackle breaks and 549 tackles. He broke the line on four occasions and assisted in three tries within 146 runs over 1362 run metres.

Cook made his Rabbitohs debut in round one, 2016 against the Sydney Roosters and in 2017 extended his contract until at least the end of the 2019 season.

The Clubman of the Year award is named after one of the Rabbitohs’ greatest players of all time, Bob McCarthy. McCarthy was part of the Rabbitohs’ golden era in the 1960s and early 1970s, playing 211 first grade games in the cardinal and myrtle. He is a multiple premiership-winning legend of the Club.

Cook was presented the award by the man himself, Bob McCarthy at tonight’s awards ceremony.

Congratulations to Damien Cook on being named the 2017 Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year.


Previous Winners:

2003 – Jason Death

2004 – Ashley Harrison

2005 – Luke Stuart

2006 – Peter Cusack

2007 – Luke Stuart

2008 – Beau Champion

2009 – Scott Geddes

2010 – Sam Burgess

2011 – Michael Crocker

2012 – Sam Burgess and Michael Crocker

2013 – Matt King

2014 - Sam Burgess

2015 – Ben Lowe

2016 – Jason Clark

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.