Team list

Cameron Murray has been awarded the Jack Rayner Players' Player Award for 2019

Rabbitohs lock Cameron Murray has capped off a breakout season in the red and green in 2019 by being awarded the Jack Rayner Players' Player Award for 2019.

Expert Rugby League analysts and past players say there’s no greater sign of respect when the players next to you want to line up beside you and feel confident that you are going to deliver and never stop competing. Cameron Murray has been recognised by his teammates as that very person.

Being awarded the 2019 Dally M Lock of the Year award, Murray had 26 appearances scoring 12 tries - including a 50 metre bust up field against the Dragons in round two, as well as a couple of crucial four-pointers in the Club’s must-win semi final against the Sea Eagles last month.

Murray’s brilliant performances saw him selected for the Blues; playing a part in the winning try that saw New South Wales retain the State of Origin shield, in the very last moment of the series.

Since Origin, Murray’s form thrived and has since earned himself a spot in the recently-announced Kangaroos squad.

He has been deemed as having the quickest play-the-ball in competition, somehow always finding his front. Murray has also proven extremely solid in defence, whether in the middle or filling in on the edge. 

As a South Sydney junior and son of former Rabbitoh, Corey Murray, he says playing for the Rabbitohs “has always been a dream of mine.”

The award is named after Club legend Jack Rayner, who captain-coached the Club to five premierships in the 1950s, whose leadership and values are still upheld with 'The Rabbitoh Way'.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs would like to congratulate Cameron on his award.

Previous Winners:

2002 - Paul Stringer and Scott Geddes

2003 – Luke Stuart

2004 – Ashley Harrison

2005 – Peter Cusack

2006 – Nathan Merritt

2007 – Roy Asotasi

2008 – Luke Stuart and Nathan Merritt

2009 – Luke Stuart

2010 – Sam Burgess

2011 – Chris Sandow

2012 – Greg Inglis

2013 – Sam Burgess

2014 – Sam Burgess

2015 – Greg Inglis

2016 – Sam Burgess

2017 – Angus Crichton

2018 - Sam Burgess

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.