Team list

Australian World Cup Squad Announced

Rabbitohs 2018 recruit Dane Gagai will make his Australian Kangaroos debut at the 2017 Rugby League World Cup following his inclusion in the Australian squad announced today (Tuesday).

Gagai tops a stellar year in the representative ranks with his selection for Australia following his Wally Lewis Medal in this year’s State of Origin series as the player of the series.

Australia will open its World Cup campaign against England in Melbourne on Friday 27 October before taking on France in Canberra on Friday 3 November and Lebanon in Sydney on Saturday 11 November.
The 24-man squad includes six debutants, those being Gagai, Wade Graham, Felise Kaufusi, Jordan McLean, Cameron Munster and Tom Trbojevic.
“This squad has the right mix of youth and experience, as well as an overall balance across the positions for a World Cup campaign,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.
“It was selected based on form, performances in the State of Origin series as well as previously in the green and gold jersey.
“We have a number of players who can play multiple positions and that will be an advantage over the course of what we hope will be six matches.”
Fourteen players from the inaugural Kangaroos Origin Merit Team have been selected in the World Cup Squad.
Premiership-winning skipper Cameron Smith will captain the squad, while Boyd Cordner has been endorsed as Vice-Captain by Australian Rugby League Commission Chairman John Grant.
The full Kangaroos World Cup squad will travel to Fiji for an exhibition match against both Fiji and PNG on Saturday 14 October.
The Australian Kangaroos World Cup squad, listed alphabetically, is:

Darius Boyd (Broncos)

Will Chambers (Storm)

Boyd Cordner (vc) (Roosters)

Cooper Cronk (Storm)

Josh Dugan (Dragons/Sharks)

Andrew Fifita (Sharks)

Tyson Frizell (Dragons)

Dane Gagai (Knights/Rabbitohs)

Matt Gillett (Broncos)

Wade Graham (Sharks)

Valentine Holmes (Sharks)

Ben Hunt (Broncos/Dragons)

Felise Kaufusi (Storm)

David Klemmer (Bulldogs)

Josh McGuire (Broncos)

James Maloney (Sharks)

Jordan McLean (Storm/Cowboys)

Michael Morgan (Cowboys)

Cameron Munster (Storm)

Billy Slater (Storm)

Cameron Smith (c) (Storm)

Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)

Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)

Aaron Woods (Tigers/Bulldogs)

Coach – Mal Meninga

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.