You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Walker Wins Souths Cares Award for 2021

Rabbitohs player Cody Walker has been presented with the Souths Cares Award for 2021 due to his commitment to his work for the community and in Souths Cares’ programs. 

Awarded for the first time in a decade, the Souths Cares Award has been awarded this year to the Club’s Ken Stephen Medal nominee in Walker. 

Cody consistently works in and provides support for, many charitable organisations, particularly those dedicated to providing a better life for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the community.

Souths Cares 2021 Year in Review

Cody is a regular contributor to Souths Cares’ programs, playing a leading role in the NAIDOC celebrations in July, the design of the Club’s Indigenous jersey alongside his uncle, Uncle Joe Walker, and young participants in Souths Cares’ programs, and was also the face of Souths Cares’ involvement in International Safer Internet day. He is also a leader in the Mental Health Awareness programs, is on the Club’s and Souths Cares’ Reconciliation Action Plan committee, supports Souths Cares’ Nanga Mai Marri program, Aboriginal Employment program, Deadly Youth Mentoring program and Wellbeing program. 
Away from Souths Cares’, he is the captain of the Indigenous All Stars side and is a leading figure in the community activations the team takes part in during the Indigenous camps run by the NRL. 
He also champions the Rising Warriors program workshops in his hometown of Casino, also raising money for the program by organising painted boots for the entire Rabbitohs squad in 2021 which were auctioned after the NRL’s Indigenous Round. 
Cody also attended events in Bombala on the NSW south coast following the devastating bushfires last year. 
He also regularly stands up and speaks up for the Indigenous community and leads the conversation on Aboriginal issues in Australia, trying to raise awareness for issues within the Indigenous community in Australia. 
Previous Winners: 
2011 – whole squad 
2010 – whole squad 
2009 – Jamie Simpson 
2008 – Jamie Simpson 
2007 – Dean Widders 
2006 – Beau Champion