You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Walker Judged Season’s Best as Players’ Player

Cody Walker has won his second consecutive Jack Rayner Players’ Player award presented at today’s George Piggins Medal Presentation event on the Gold Coast. 

Voted as the season’s best by his teammates for the second straight, the Rabbitohs five-eighth has collected his second award for the day having also claimed the Souths Cares Award for his contribution to the community and Souths Cares’ programs. 

Jack Rayner Players' Player of the Year Announcement

Walker proved to be the Rabbitohs’ most potent attacking weapon throughout 2021. He played 25 matches for South Sydney in 2021, scoring 16 tries, 33 try assists and 46 line break assists. His running game caused every defensive line immense problems, leading him to finish third in the Dally M count at season’s end. 

Walker is one of the leaders of the Rabbitohs NRL squad and did so both on and off the field throughout 2021. He becomes the fifth player to win this award on more than one occasion. 

The Jack Rayner Players’ Player award is awarded to the winning following the collection of players’ player votes after each match of the season by Rabbitohs Head of Football, Mark Ellison. 

Walker Judged Seasons Best as Players' Player

Walker received the Jack Rayner Players’ Player award from Assistant Coach Jason Demetriou at today’s event on the Gold Coast, which was presented by Rabbitohs Chairman Nicholas Pappas from Sydney. 

The Players’ Player award is named after legendary Rabbitohs player and coach, Jack Rayner. Rayner won five Premierships with South Sydney in six seasons in the Club’s golden era between 1950 and 1955, as both captain and captain/coach. His legacy at the Rabbitohs lives on to this day, remembered as an honest, tough, hardworking forward during the days when some of the most brutal Rugby League was played. 

Congratulations to Cody Walker for winning the Jack Rayner Players’ Player award in 2021 for the second-straight season. 

Previous Winners: 
2020 – Cody Walker 
2019 – Cameron Murray 
2018 – Sam Burgess 
2017 – Angus Crichton 
2016 – Sam Burgess 
2015 – Greg Inglis 
2014 – Sam Burgess 
2013 – Sam Burgess 
2012 – Greg Inglis 
2011 – Chris Sandow 
2010 – Sam Burgess 
2009 – Luke Stuart 
2008 – Luke Stuart and Nathan Merritt 
2007 – Roy Asotasi 
2006 – Nathan Merritt 
2005 – Peter Cusack 
2004 – Ashley Harrison 
2003 – Luke Stuart 
2002 – Paul Stringer and Scott Geddes