You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Walker Crowned George Piggins Medallist for 2021

Cody Walker has capped off a stellar 2021 season by being presented with the George Piggins Medal as the Rabbitohs’ Best and Fairest player for the season. 

Walker has won the award for the second straight season, turning in some sublime performances which earned him comparisons to legendary players like Cliff Lyons due to his natural ability and dedication to his craft. 

Cody Walker 2021 Season Highlights

Walker had his best season in the NRL since making his debut in 2016. In his 25 matches for South Sydney he scored 16 tries, set up another 33 tries and assisted with 46 line breaks. His running game tore opposition defences apart as was evidenced by his brilliant try in the 2021 NRL Grand Final where he beat four defenders to score under the posts in the first half. He ably filled in at fullback early in the season, but it was his devastating attack from five-eighth that sees him claim the Rabbitohs’ top award for season 2021. 

Walker also captained the Indigenous All Stars to kick off the 2021 season and finished third in the Dally M count at the end of the season, winning the Dally M Five-eighth of the Year award in the process. 

This is Walker’s fourth award from today’s George Piggins Medal Presentation event, having previously won The Burrow Appreciation Award (NRL), the Jack Rayner Players’ Player award and the Souths Cares award. 

Walker becomes the fifth player to win multiple George Piggins Medals, joining Sam Burgess, John Sutton, Greg Inglis and Damien Cook as players who have won the award more than once. 

The Best and Fairest award is named after Rabbitohs club legend George Piggins who was a Premiership-winning and international player, coach and official over a 40-year period. He was also one of the leading figures in the Club’s fight for reinstatement to the National Rugby League in the early 2000s. 

Walker was presented with the George Piggins Medal at today’s event on the Gold Coast by Rabbitohs Head Coach Wayne Bennett. 

Congratulations to Cody Walker on taking out the George Piggins Medal for the second consecutive year as the Club’s best and fairest player for the season.

Previous Winners: 
2020 – Cody Walker 
2019 – Damien Cook 
2018 – Damien Cook 
2017 – Sam Burgess 
2016 – Sam Burgess 
2015 – Greg Inglis 
2014 – Sam Burgess 
2013 – Greg Inglis and John Sutton 
2012 – John Sutton 
2011 – Nathan Merritt 
2010 – Issac Luke 
2009 – John Sutton 
2008 – Luke Stuart 
2007 – Roy Asotasi 
2006 – David Fa’alogo 
2005 – Peter Cusack 
2004 – Ashley Harrison 
2003 – Bryan Fletcher 
2002 – Paul Stringer* 
* Previously called the Jack Rayner Award for the Most Outstanding Player 

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners