You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Nicholls Claims Clubman of the Year Award

Rabbitohs frontrower Mark Nicholls has been presented with the Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year award for season 2021 for his efforts of the Club both on and off the field. 

On field, Nicholls has had his best season to date. He was the only Rabbitohs player this season to play in all 27 matches, including the 2021 NRL Grand Final. He scored three tries, including a try-scoring double against the Roosters in round 24, doubling his career tally to six. He ran for 3073 metres this season with an average of 113 metres game including 1213 post-contact metres. He also made 605 tackles with an efficiency of 95.4%. 

Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year Announcement

Off the field, Nicholls is a much-loved teammate and has grown his cult following amongst the Rabbitohs faithful. 

Known as ‘The GOAT’ by teammates, Members and supporters alike, Nicholls is regarded as the glue in the squad around the dressing room and at training. He is also active outside of the training and playing time with the group, organising visits to feed the homeless with the Salvation Army and taking his teammates along with him. 

Mark Nicholls Awarded Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year Award

His now famous pre-game speech when he assumed the captaincy of the team in the final regular season game of 2021 was a source of joviality, camaraderie and inspiration for a young Rabbitohs outfit. 

He has the trust of his teammates to deliver each and every game and is a deserving winner of the Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year award for 2021. 

Nicholls received his award from CEO Blake Solly at the George Piggins Medal Presentation event on the Gold Coast today, which was presented from Sydney by Rabbitohs legend Bob McCarthy. 

The Clubman of the Year award is named after one of the Rabbitohs’ greatest players of all time, Bob McCarthy. McCarthy was part of the Rabbitohs’ golden era in the 1960s and early 1970s, playing 211 first grade games in the cardinal and myrtle, scoring 100 tries. He is a multiple Premiership-winning legend of the South Sydney club. 

Congratulations to Mark Nicholls on receiving the 2021 Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year award. 

Previous Winners: 
2020 – Damien Cook 
2019 – Braidon Burns 
2018 – John Sutton 
2017 – Damien Cook 
2016 – Jason Clark 
2015 – Ben Lowe 
2014 – Sam Burgess 
2013 – Matt King 
2012 – Sam Burgess and Michael Crocker 
2011 – Michael Crocker 
2010 – Sam Burgess 
2009 – Scott Geddes 
2008 – Beau Champion 
2007 – Luke Stuart 
2006 – Peter Cusack 
2005 – Luke Stuart 
2004 – Ashley Harrison 
2003 – Jason Death 
2002 – Jason Death