You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Damien Cook has been awarded the George Piggins Medal for 2019

2019 George Piggins Medallist - Damien Cook

Rabbitohs hooker Damien Cook has been awarded the George Piggins Medal for 2019, capping off another fantastic season which sees him crowned the Best and Fairest player for the second year in a row.

In his 26 appearances for South Sydney this season, Cook scored three tries, had 18 try assists and further developed his short kicking game by forcing eight line drop outs.

Cook’s strongest attribute - his running game - continued to build from last year, averaging the most running metres for a number nine in the competition, with just a tick under 80 metres per game.

It wasn’t just with ball-in-hand that saw Cook step up in the vital moments of a game. Who could forget that crucial try-saver on a flying Corey Oates in Round 23? There’s no doubting his motor, having hit the 50+ tackle mark on nine occasions this year.

His well-rounded game sees him as the benchmark for dummy-halves having now cemented his spot in the Blues jersey after another State of Origin series victory, and recently again being selected in the Kangaroos squad to play New Zealand.

I am truly honoured to receive this award. To have George here to present was truly something special.

Damien Cook

The Best and Fairest award is named after Rabbitohs Club legend George Piggins, who was a premiership-winning and international player, coach and official over a 40-year period. He was also one of the leading figures in the Club's fight for reinstatement to the National Rugby League in the early 2000s.

Mr Piggins was on hand at the event with Head Coach Wayne Bennett to present Cook with the award.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs would like to congratulate Damien on his stellar season and his awards.

Previous Winners:

2002 - Paul Stringer

2003 – Bryan Fletcher

2004 – Ashley Harrison

2005 – Peter Cusack

2006 – David Fa'alogo

2007 – Roy Asotasi

2008 – Luke Stuart

2009 – John Sutton

2010 – Issac Luke

2011 – Nathan Merritt

2012 – John Sutton

2013 – Greg Inglis and John Sutton

2014 – Sam Burgess

2015 – Greg Inglis

2016 – Sam Burgess

2017 – Sam Burgess

2018 - Damien Cook

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners