You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
  "Picture by Alex Whitehead/ - 29/10/16 - Rugby League - 2016 Ladbrokes Four Nations - England v New Zealand - The John Smith's Stadium, Huddersfield, England - England captain Sam Burgess leads his side out."

Rabbitohs' star Sam Burgess has been named to captain England for the final of the Rugby League World Cup after back rower, Sean O'Loughlin, was ruled out with a calf strain. 

Burgess will have the honour of leading England out to their first Grand Final in 22 years as they look to topple overwhelming favourites Australia. 

England won't be lacking any experience in the captaincy department with O'Loughlin's absence. Burgess captained England during the 2016 Four Nations.

The England squad is:

1)      Gareth Widdop
2)      Jermaine McGillvary
3)      Kallum Watkins
4)      John Bateman
5)      Ryan Hall
6)      Kevin Brown
7)      Luke Gale
8)      Chris Hill
9)      James Roby
10)   James Graham
16)  Ben Currie
12)  Elliott Whitehead
11)  Sam Burgess (c)


14) Alex Walmsley
15) Thomas Burgess
17) Chris Heighington
18) Jonny Lomax


19) Scott Taylor
20) George Williams