Team list

Mascot Public Take 2016 Bob McCarthy Cup

Mascot Public  has claimed a hard fought 18-16 victory over St Therese Catholic Primary School in the Grand Final of the Bob McCarthy Cup at ANZ Stadium in the curtain raiser for the NRL match between the South Sydney Rabbitohs and St George-Illawarra Dragons.

Despite both sides scoring three tries apiece, Mascot would clinch victory, with a single conversion proving to be the difference between the two teams.

Although Mascot had the initial attacking opportunities, it would be St Therese that would open the scoring with a great long-distance run. The conversion attempt was unsuccessful, leaving the score at 4-0.

Mascot would hit back soon after in similar fashion, touching down for their first four-pointer. A successful conversion attempt would provide the Mascot side with a 6-4 lead.

St Therese would score moments later with a close range effort. This time the conversion was successful, shifting the scoreline back in the Saints favour at 10-6.

It would be Mascot that would claim the lead heading into the break, crossing for their second try of the match as the half-time siren sounded. No mistakes were made with the kick, leaving the scores at 12-10.

The opening try of the second-half would be scored by St Therese after a great break down the flank. The additional points were added, setting up a 16-12 scoreline.

With less than two minutes on the clock, some brilliant footwork close to the line would see Mascot level the scores. The extras would be secured, with Mascot claiming a narrow 18-16 lead with a minute left in the match.

Mascot’s final try would prove to be enough as the St Therese side was unable to reclaim the lead in the final minute of the encounter.

Subscribe to Receive The Latest News, Offers & Member Exclusives.