You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Dream Team

The South Sydney Rabbitohs announced the greatest club side in Rugby League history, the South Sydney Dream Team, at a gala dinner held on 29 July 2004 at the Westin Hotel in Sydney.

17 players were selected in position as well as a coach to represent the South Sydney Football Club from 1908 through to 2004. The team was selected a group of Rugby League experts, historians and by Rabbitohs fans through a public vote.

The South Sydney Dream Team is:

  • Fullback Clive Churchill
  • Winger Harold Horder
  • Centre Herb Gilbert
  • Centre Paul Sait
  • Winger Ian Moir
  • Five-eighth Jim Lisle
  • Halfback Bob Grant
  • Lock Ron Coote
  • Second row Bob McCarthy
  • Second row George Treweek
  • Prop John O’Neill
  • Hooker Elwyn Walters
  • Prop John Sattler (c)
  • Reserve Greg Hawick
  • Reserve Ray Branighan
  • Reserve Ian Roberts
  • Reserve Les Cowie
  • Coach Jack Rayner

This team of absolute champion players spanning the history of the code of Rugby League in Australia have collectively played 2135 First Grade games for South Sydney, 158 games for New South Wales, three games for Queensland and 158 Tests for Australia.

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners