South Sydney District Rugby League Football Club Limited

The Beginning…

South Sydney District Rugby League Football Club was formed at a public meeting held at Redfern Town Hall on 17 January 1908.

On March 5, 1908, the NSW Rugby League issued the Club its receipt No. 2 for their £ -1 – 1 – 0 affiliation fee.

The Club’s first premiership match, also the first in the NSWRL competition, was played at Birchgrove Oval on Easter Monday, 20 April 1908. Souths defeated North Sydney 11-7. Winger Tommy Anderson scored Souths first try, with others added during the historic game by forwards Dick Green and Harold Butler, who also kicked a goal.

The Club was incorporated as a company limited by guarantee at a Special General Meeting on 13 June 1982.

The rebirth of the Rabbitohs began on 7 June, 2006 through a new partnership between Russell Crowe, Peter Holmes à Court and the 8000 Members of the Club. The voting Members of the Football Club voted by a 75.8% majority to convert the Club from a company limited by guarantee to a company limited by shares at an Extraordinary General Meeting held on 19 March 2006.

All Time Players Records from 1908-2017