You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Taaffe Celebrates 2021 as John Sattler Rookie of the Year

Young, livewire Rabbitoh Blake Taaffe has capped off an impressive first season in the NRL by winning the John Sattler Rookie of the Year award for 2021.

Taaffe, who made his first grade debut against the Brisbane Broncos in round 15, went to play in eight matches throughout his first season in the top grade, including wearing the fullback jersey in the 2021 Grand Final. 

John Sattler Rookie of the Year Announcement

The La Perouse Panthers junior one tries and kicked six goals in his eight NRL games in his rookie season, also recording five try assists, six line break assists and an average of 111 running metres per game. 

Taaffe, who moves into the Rabbitohs top 30 squad in 2022 under incoming Head Coach Jason Demetriou, joined fellow young guns Lachlan Ilias, Peter Mamouzelos, Davvy Moale and Dean Hawkins in making their first grade debuts for South Sydney this year.

Taaffe received the John Sattler Rookie of the Year award from Rabbitohs Assistant Coach Ben Hornby at the event on the Gold Coast, which was presented by the President of Souths Juniors, Keith McCraw, from Sydney. 

Taaffe Celebrates 2021 as John Sattler Rookie of the Year

The Rookie of the Year award is named after Rabbitohs legend, John Sattler, who famously led the Rabbitohs into battle in the 1960s and 1970s. He had his jaw shattered in the opening minutes of the 1970 Grand Final, going on to play the rest of the game in a performance that has been written into Rugby League folklore. 

Congratulations to Blake Taaffe on being awarded the 2021 John Sattler Rookie of the Year accolade. 

Previous Winners: 
2020 – Keaon Koloamatangi 
2019 – Corey Allan 
2018 – Adam Doueihi 
2017 – Cameron Murray 
2016 – Cody Walker 
2015 – Chris Grevsmuhl 
2014 – Alex Johnston 
2013 – Dylan Walker 
2012 – Adam Reynolds 
2011 – Nathan Peats 
2010 – Dylan Farrell 
2009 – David Tyrrell 
2008 – Chris Sandow 
2007 – Issac Luke 
2006 – Germaine Paulson 
2005 – Manase Manuokafoa and Yileen Gordon 
2004 – Joe Williams 
2003 – Mark Minichiello 
2002 – Scott Geddes