You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
October 25: Storm claim crown; Arthurson bows out

On this day, NRL Hall of Fame member Ron Coote is born, Ken Arthurson bows out of the game and the Storm down Penrith to claim the 2020 premiership.


Six-time premiership-winner Ron Coote is born. Coote also played in 23 Test matches and for NSW on 14 occasions. Was named as the Harry Sunderland Medal winner in 1970 as Australia's best player during the Ashes series and later that year captained Australia to World Cup triumph in England.

He played eight seasons with Souths then seven at the Roosters and has the rare honour of being remembered as a club legend at each team.


The King provides for Miles

Miles breaks through on the edge


Court figures reveal that more than 50 new millionaires had been created by the Super League war.


North Sydney players vote overwhelmingly in favour of a merger with Manly. The Northern Eagles would play in the NRL for three years before the joint venture ended and Manly returned as a sole entity.


After 54 years as player, coach and administrator, former ARL chairman Ken Arthurson ended his long association with the game. His final involvement in the game was as chairman of Manly Leagues Club.

League legend Ken Arthurson.
League legend Ken Arthurson. ©NRL Photos


New Zealand open their Four Nations campaign with a 30-12 victory over Australia at Suncorp Stadium. The result leaves Australia's chances of qualifying for the final under serious pressure. Shaun Johnson, Jason Nightingale and Kevin Proctor were among the Kiwi's try-scorers.


Former Newcastle Knights players including Paul Harragon, Mark Hughes, Matthew Johns and Danny Buderus are part of a 28-strong group who climb to base camp at Mt Everest to raise money for the Mark Hughes Foundation. Altitude sickness causes health problems among the touring party.


Brisbane coach Wayne Bennett signs a two-year deal with South Sydney for the 2020 and 2021 seasons but insists he will honour his deal with the Broncos for 2019.


The Melbourne Storm take their chances to charge to a 26-0 lead in the grand final before resisting a late Panthers fightback to win 26-20. Storm fullback Ryan Papenhuyzen wins the Clive Churchill Medal. Cameron Smith scores 14 points as he becomes the oldest grand final winner in history but declines to make a call on his future. The decider is watched by a COVID-restricted crowd of 37,303.

The Broncos claim a third successive NRLW grand final after downing the Sydney Roosters 20-10.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.     

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners