You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Round 25 NRL line up to play Roosters

Round 25 Line Up vs Roosters

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are pleased to announce their 21-man NRL squad for their round 25 Ron Coote Cup fixture against the Sydney Roosters at ANZ Stadium this Thursday 5 September at 7:50pm.

Head Coach Wayne Bennett has named the same starting line up that defeated the New Zealand Warriors last Friday night.

The Rabbitohs and Roosters will be playing the second leg of the Ron Coote Cup this Thursday night, with the Rabbitohs holding a ten-point advantage courtesy of their 26-16 win over the Roosters in round one this season.

The Ron Coote Cup celebrates the career of one of the game’s greatest players, Ron Coote AM, who won six premierships and played in nine Grand Finals during his 15 seasons playing first grade football with both South Sydney and Eastern Suburbs. The Ron Coote Cup is played across both home and away fixtures in any given season, with the winner determined by the aggregate score from those two regular season matches.

The Rabbitohs will be wearing special edition socks for this game against the Roosters to raise awareness for the fight against Cystic Fibrosis. The Rabbitohs were introduced to the cause via the Club’s official car partner Suttons and their Group Fleet Sales Manager Pat Borg, whose daughter Isabella suffers from Cystic Fibrosis. Pat raises money each year taking part in the 65k 4 65 Roses Walkathon, and both the Rabbitohs and Suttons are getting behind the cause at this game by showing their support for the Neverrest campaign.

Sean Clarence, whose brother Nathan passed away from Cystic Fibrosis earlier this year, will run a 42km marathon, do 10,000 pushups and 1,500 pull ups, starting at ANZ Stadium on Thursday night at the Rabbitohs vs Roosters game and finishing at Bankwest Stadium 24 hours later at Friday’s Eels vs Sea Eagles match. All funds raised through the #Neverrest campaign will go directly to Cystic Fibrosis Australia. Donations can be made by visiting

The Rabbitohs will also be farewelling a number of players at their final home game of the regular season including modern day legends John Sutton and Greg Inglis, and fellow premiership winners George Burgess and Kyle Turner. 8,000 posters featuring augmented reality technology, celebrating the players’ careers, will be handed out to the first 8,000 Rabbitohs Members and supporters through the gates on Thursday night.

The curtain raiser match on Thursday night will be a NSW Physical Disability Rugby League match between the South Sydney Rabbitohs and the Sydney Roosters, kicking off at 6:25pm. Gates open at ANZ Stadium at 6:10pm.

Thursday night’s clash between the Rabbitohs and Roosters will see the continuation of new food and beverage prices at ANZ Stadium with many items reduced by 15 to 20 per cent at the public food outlets.

Integrated rail travel is included in all pre-purchased tickets and Rabbitohs Memberships.

Pre-purchased tickets are also available at discounted rates including general admission family tickets from $40, adults from $20, concession tickets from $15 and juniors from $10.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ 21-man NRL squad for Thursday’s match against the Roosters is:

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Rabbitohs is number 1 Adam Doueihi
    Fullback for Roosters is number 1 James Tedesco
  • Winger for Rabbitohs is number 2 Alex Johnston
    Winger for Roosters is number 2 Daniel Tupou
  • Centre for Rabbitohs is number 3 Campbell Graham
    Centre for Roosters is number 3 Latrell Mitchell
  • Centre for Rabbitohs is number 4 Dane Gagai
    Centre for Roosters is number 4 Joseph Manu
  • Winger for Rabbitohs is number 5 Corey Allan
    Winger for Roosters is number 18 Billy Smith
  • Five-Eighth for Rabbitohs is number 6 Cody Walker
    Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 21 Drew Hutchison
  • Halfback for Rabbitohs is number 7 Adam Reynolds
    Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Cooper Cronk


  • Prop for Rabbitohs is number 8 Sam Burgess
    Prop for Roosters is number 8 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
  • Hooker for Rabbitohs is number 9 Damien Cook
    Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Sam Verrills
  • Prop for Rabbitohs is number 10 Liam Knight
    Prop for Roosters is number 10 Isaac Liu
  • 2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 11 John Sutton
    2nd Row for Roosters is number 11 Boyd Cordner
  • 2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 12 Jaydn Su'A
    2nd Row for Roosters is number 17 Angus Crichton
  • Lock for Rabbitohs is number 13 Cameron Murray
    Lock for Roosters is number 16 Nat Butcher


  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 14 Ethan Lowe
    Interchange for Roosters is number 13 Victor Radley
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 15 Tom Amone
    Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Lindsay Collins
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 16 Tevita Tatola
    Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Zane Tetevano
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 17 Mark Nicholls
    Interchange for Roosters is number 19 Sitili Tupouniua

Match Officials

  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Referee: Chris Sutton
  • Touch Judge: Belinda Sharpe
  • Touch Judge: Chris Butler

Last updated:

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners