You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Inglis: Maroons captaincy a 'next level' honour

He's achieved almost every accolade in the game of rugby league, but Greg Inglis has described being named captain of Queensland's State of Origin team as "next level".

Inglis follows in the footsteps of legendary figures in the sport such as Arthur Beetson, Wally Lewis, Darren Lockyer and Cameron Smith.

Click the embedded video above to watch the full interview.

"It is totally next level, without a doubt," Inglis said on Day One of Camp Maroon.

"Locky and Smithy will no doubt become Immortals (similar to Beetson and Lewis).

"I've learnt from them and learnt from Petero (Civoniceva) and Brent Tate.

"On a personal level, it's an awesome achievement.

"To go out there and captain this team, this side, this state; it's a massive honour, one I definitely won't take lightly.

"When I got the phone call from Kevvie (coach Walters), I was over the moon."

Inglis said he wouldn't try to copy any other player in particular and intended to remain his own man.

He described it as exciting to be handed the leadership at a time when the team was ushering in "the next generation".

"I'm always learning to become a better role model," Inglis said.

"We can always learn and I'm no different.

"I'll lead in my own way.

"(I'll be) one that goes out and does my job the best way I can."

Previously of the Norths Devils in the Intrust Super Cup and schooled at Wavell State High, Inglis has 30 Origin appearances to his name and an all-time record 18 tries.

He will captain the Maroons for the first time on Wednesday, June 6 when Queensland faces New South Wales in Game One of the Holden State of Origin series at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Photos from Day One of Camp Maroon.

Queensland State of Origin Captains

Arthur Beetson (1980)
Wally Lewis (1981-1991)
Paul Vautin (1988, 1990)
Mal Meninga (1992-94)
Trevor Gillmeister (1995-96)
Allan Langer (1996, 1998)
Adrian Lam (1997, 1999-2000)
Kevin Walters (1999)
Gorden Tallis (2001-03)
Darren Lockyer (2001, 2004-07, 2009–11)
Shane Webcke (2004)
Cameron Smith (2008, 2012–2017)
Greg Inglis (2018)