You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rabbitohs forwards Sam Burgess and Thomas Burgess have been named in England’s 24-man squad tonight (Monday) ahead of the Rugby League World Cup.

Sam, who captained England at last year’s Four Nations tournament, took out the George Piggins Medal for the Rabbitohs best and fairest player of the 2017 season last Friday night, and has backed up that award with selection in the English squad.

Thomas has been named as part of England’s front row rotation and is expected to see plenty of game time over the World Cup series.

England will open their World Cup campaign against Australia in Melbourne on Friday 27 October before taking on Lebanon on Saturday 4 November in Sydney and a clash against the French on Sunday 12 November in Perth.

England’s 24-man squad is:

John Bateman (Wigan)
Kevin Brown (Warrington)
Sam Burgess (Rabbitohs)
Thomas Burgess (Rabbitohs)

Ben Currie (Warrington)
Luke Gale (Castleford)
James Graham (Bulldogs/ Dragons)
Ryan Hall (Leeds)
Chris Heighington (Sharks)
Chris Hill (Warrington)
Josh Hodgson (Raiders)
Jonny Lomax (St Helens)
Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield)
Mike McMeeken (Castleford)
Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan)
Mark Percival (St Helens)
Stefan Ratchford (Warrington)
James Roby (St Helens)
Scott Taylor (Hull FC)
Alex Walmsley (St Helens)
Kallum Watkins (Leeds)
Elliott Whitehead (Raiders)
Gareth Widdop (Dragons)
George Williams (Wigan)

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners