You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Both 2016 Charity Shield teams have now been named, with St George Illawarra Dragons coach, Paul McGregor naming a strong line-up for the traditional clash.

Both teams will be without their respective All Stars contingent – the Rabbitohs without Greg Inglis, Thomas Burgess and Adam Reynolds, while the Dragons will be missing skipper, Gareth Widdop and Joel Thompson.

One player who will be on deck for the Red V however will be playmaker, Benji Marshall, who will don the number seven jersey for his first trial following an ankle injury.

Related Stories

Rabbitohs 2016 Charity Shield Line-up

Maguire’s Charity Shield Insights

“I’m really looking forward to getting back out there and competing in the Charity Shield this weekend,” Marshall told

“The Dragons medical staff had opted to rest me from the Nines tournament to allow me some extra time to recover from the off-season ankle surgery but I feel fit and ready.

“The Rabbitohs forward-pack always pose a threat but we have recruited a lot of size and depth within our own squad too and it will be good to see them in action come kick-off.”

For the Rabbitohs, Michael Maguire has given an opportunity to a number of new faces, including Michael Oldfield, who will take his place at fullback.”

The men in Red and Green will also boast a new-look halves pairing, with Luke Keary and Cody Walker set to combine.

The opportunities extend to the forward pack, with Zane Musgrove, Cameron McInnes, Jason Clark, and Paul Carter all receiving starting spots for the clash.


Purchase your tickets to the 2016 Charity Shield now!


The St George Illawarra Dragons side for the 2016 Charity Shield is:

1. Kurt Mann

2. Peter Mata’utia

3. Tim Lafai

4. Euan Aitken

5. Jason Nightingale

6. Drew Hutchison

7. Benji Marshall

8. Leeson Ah Mau

9. Mitch Rein

10. Russell Packer

11. Jake Marketo

12. Will Matthews

13. Jack de Belin


14. Ben Creagh (c)

15. Mike Cooper

16. Dunamis Lui

17. Siliva Havili

18. Tyrone McCarthy

19. Josh McCrone

20. Kalifa Faifai Loa

21. Taane Milne

22. Adam Quinlan

23. Sebastine Ikahihifo

24. Jacob Host

25. Hame Sele

Coach: Paul McGregor

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners