You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Pic by: Robb Cox © NRL Photos : Tom Burgess  : Representative Rugby League, England V Samoa, 4 Nations Tournament, Game 1, 25th October 2014, Brisbane.

England will be looking to flex their muscles when they take on France this weekend in the Paul Barrière Challenge, in the first of four end-of-season Test matches to round out the year for the ‘Wall of White’.

Rabbitohs prop Thomas Burgess will play in an England team without any of his three brothers for the first time, when England play France at Leigh Sports Village on Saturday 24 October at 2pm UK time.

The England side is heavily favoured, fielding a squad full of NRL and English Super League players, as opposed to the French whose side is made up of Super League and semi-professional players from the northern hemisphere.

England will play three Test matches against New Zealand following this clash with France.

This 2015 Test between the two nations will see France out to break a 25-year drought against England.

Rugby League is growing in France, with the Catalans Dragons playing in the Super League and Toulouse being allowed entry into the third division English League in 2016.

Despite this it is unlikely that Les Tricolores will cause an upset.

This will be Thomas Burgess’ sixth Test cap, having made his debut for England in 2013.


England’s 19-man squad is:

John Bateman (Wigan)

Joe Burgess (Wigan)

Thomas Burgess (Rabbitohs)

Mike Cooper (Dragons)

Leroy Cudjoe (Huddersfield)

Liam Farrell (Wigan)

Brett Ferres (Huddersfield)

James Graham (Bulldogs)

Ryan Hall (Leeds)

Zak Hardaker (Leeds)

Chris Hill (Warrington)

Josh Hodgson (Raiders)

Sean O’Loughlin (c) (Wigan)

James Roby (St Helens)

Kallum Watkins (Leeds)

Ben Westwood (Warrington)

Elliott Whitehead (Catalans)

Gareth Widdop (Dragons)

George Williams (Wigan)


France’s squad is:

Olivier Arnaud (SO Avignon XIII)

Jean-Phillippe Baile (Bradford)

William Barthau (London)

John Boudebza (Hull KR)

Julian Bousquet (Catalans)

Clément Boyer (Toulouse Olympique XIII)

Morgan Escarê (Catalans)

Tony Gigot (Catalans)

Benjamin Jullien (Warrington)

Mourad Kriouache (Toulouse Olympique XIII)

Kévin Larroyer (Hull KR)

Rémy Marginet (St. Estève XIII Catalan)

Antoni Maria (Catalans)

Ugo Perez (St. Estève XIII Catalan)

Stanislas Robin (St. Estève XIII Catalan)

Florent Rouanet (FC Lezignan XIII)

Jordan Sigismeau (St. Estève XIII Catalan)

Mickael Simon (Wakefield)

Gadwin Springer (Castleford)

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners