You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rabbitohs High Performance Unit squad members Kobi Hookey and Reece Townsend have both been selected for the New South Wales Indigenous Under 16s Young Achievers Tour squad this week for their history-making tour of Europe in November.

Souths Junior and former Rabbitoh, Beau Champion will partner Ronny Gibbs in playing mentoring roles for the squad.

The tour, which takes non-elite players from across NSW, from places as small and remote as Bourke and Collarenebri, to France and Italy, is as much about social and cultural learnings as it is about the greatest game of all.

The tour is self-funded, with monetary support and resources provided by the New South Wales Rugby League and KARI Aboriginal Resources Incorporated.

All participants must have an 80 per cent attendance record at school for the past 12 months – and they will visit a number of historically significant locations on the trip including battlefields of the Somme, focusing on the Indigenous involvement in the World Wars.

Champion and Gibbs will be part of the touring party which will also attend a reception at the Australian Embassy in Paris, as well as act as guests of the Mayor of Villers-Bretonneux for the laying of the wreaths on Armistice Day.

The Indigenous Under-16s Young Achievers Tour squad will wear Anzac-themed jerseys that highlight the cultural and historical significance of the tour.

Congratulations to Kobi and Reece on their selection.


The New South Wales Indigenous Under 16s Young Achievers Tour Squad is:

Cody Benson (Lakesland)

Stephen Blair (South West Rocks)

Adam Campbell (Thirlmere)

Jason Edwards (Glenmore Park)

Clinton Edwards (Bourke)

Connar Cahill (Bourke)

Jeffrey Flick (Collarenebri)

Aubrey French (Campbelltown)

Heath Gibbs (Cardiff)

Jake Gillett (Colyton)

James Goonrey (Parkes)

Tayden Hickling (Wollongbar)

Cody Hodge (Estella)

Tyson Hodge (Estella)

Kobi Hookey (Leichhardt)

Brett Howard (Nyngan)

Dean Kelly (Chifley)

William Lousick (Wellington)

Roderick Matthews (Prospect)

Jai McGrath (Malabar)

Tre Meunier (Maddington, WA)

Daniel Parker (Mount Pritchard)

Graham Peckham (Wellington)

Jalen Rose (Bourke)

Triston Reilly (South West Rocks)

Tristan Sailor (Bulli)

Declan Scott-Bower (Bega)

Joshua Siegwalt (Wagga Wagga)

Benjamin Sloane (Griffith)

Kotoni Staggs (Wellington)

Reece Townsend (Zetland)

Victor Ward (Garden Suburb)

Jackson Watson (Kincumber)

Ethan Whyman (Garden Suburb)

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners