You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rabbitohs players George and Thomas Burgess have today (Tuesday) been named in Steve McNamara’s England side to take on Samoa this Saturday night in their opening Four Nations clash at Suncorp Stadium.

George Burgess will start the match in the front row wearing jumper number eight, partnering Bulldogs counterpart and England Captain James Graham, while Thomas will come off the bench wearing number 17.

England coach Steve McNamara has named four debutants in his 17-man squad – Wigan’s Matty Smith, Hull KR’s Josh Hodgson, who starts in the hooking role, Hull FC’s Joe Westerman and Castleford Tigers Daryl Clark, takes his place on the bench.

“We have four players in the squad making debut. They are ready. They’ve been in our system for a long time. All four have been in great form during the Super League season.

“There is a slight evolution to the squad this year with some new faces on show.  The debutants are exciting and they can prove themselves on the international stage.”

Congratulations to both George on Thomas on their selection.

The England side to face Samoa is:

1. Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

2. Josh Charnley (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

3. Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos, Latchford Albion)

4. Michael Shenton (Castleford Tigers, Upton)

5. Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos, Oulton Raiders)

6. Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons, King Cross)

7. Matty Smith (Wigan Warriors, Blackbrook)

8. George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)

9. Josh Hodgson (Hull KR, East Hull)

10. James Graham (captain) (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, Blackbrook)

11. Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

12. Joel Tomkins (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

13. Joe Westerman (Hull FC, Featherstone Lions)

14. Daryl Clark (Castleford Tigers, Fryston Warriors)

15. Brett Ferres (Huddersfield Giants, Smawthorne Panthers)

16. Thomas Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)

17. Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves, New Spring Lions)


The Toa Samoa side coached by Matt Parish is:

1. Tim Simona

2. Antonio Winterstein

3. Ricky Leutele

4. Joey Leilua

5. Daniel Vidot

6. Ben Roberts

7. Kyle Stanley

8. Sam Tagaetese

9. Michael Sio

10. David Fa’alogo

11. Frank Pritchard

12. Leeson Ah Mau

13. Josh McGuire

14. Pita Godinet

15. Jesse Sene-Lefao

16. Isaac Liu

17. Mose Masoe

18. Dunamis Lui

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners